27

4.4 based on 27 customer reviews

16
8
2
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great speaker with extra bass

SRS-XB23 17 August 2020 by Johnny (United Kingdom)

Received your Sony SRS-XB23 Extra Bass Speaker on Thursday 6th August in excellent condition. Unpacked speaker, read the instructions and put the speaker on charge. The code to use on a phone camera is an excellent addition to the instruction leaflet, this worked really well and was a great help, please put this on all Sony products. Connecting via Bluetooth was very easy, no problem. I have connected my iPhone and iPad. The control panel is a great feature especially the voice telling you it is connected to Bluetooth and the battery capacity. Being able to connect two together for stereo sound is a bonus. First time playing tried all sorts of music rock, country, classical, and pop all sounded great both base and treble, the bees being especially good. The build is really good, very sturdy, good looking, and will stand up to a lot of abuse. The controls on the speaker worked without any problems. My phone rang, and answering and conducting the call was flawless.I have used the speaker in the shower, it got very steamy but the sound was just great, and the moisture did not affect it in any way. I have used the speaker outside when doing the weeding in the garden, it was good to have music while I worked. Also while relaxing in my spare time in the garden. As I am disabled and use a motor scooter I put the speaker in the basket so I can have music on the go, better than the radio in my car.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

great features

SRS-XB23 29 May 2020 by andy20200529 (USA)

music works perfectly with multi device connections but sorry to see handsfree cannot work with multi device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

27 Customer Reviews

0

Beautiful lay out it's unique deff.

SRSXB23/B 12 October 2020 by TaeThizz415 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is great would love a little more bass though does not compare to beats products or JBL's products BASS.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than size and price would suggest

SRS-XB23 07 October 2020 by mrSteve (USA)

I have 2 each of all 3 new Xtra Bass speakers. I actually just purchased these so that I'd have the whole set. But I was pleasantly surprised at just how well rounded and nice these sound, especially at low to medium volume levels. Sony has really done a great job with these, the bass is solid and the mids and highs are clear, as with any small speaker, the bass drops off at high volume levels, but these really shine at the point just before the bass drop off is detectable. I also like that they are designed to lay on there sides and angle the drivers slightly upward, very clever. I use the almost exclusively in stereo mode, but have used them in party mode too, both work well. The only negative thing I've noticed is that the Bluetooth connection stumbles a bit with most of my devices, this happens on the XB43, XB43 and these XB23's, the latest firmware update seems to be the cause of the problem, as it wasn't a problem before the most recent firmware update. Interestingly when I use a really old Galaxy Player, or my Sony A30 series Hi Res walkman the Bluetooth connection is rock solid. That problem aside, I really like these speakers and would recommend them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound for a small speaker

SRS-XB23 19 September 2020 by Andrew7l (USA)

just got this speaker a week ago and it was a upgrade from the sony srs xb20 I love the design and Build is there sond is impressive for its size i Recommend this speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Room filling sound

SRS-XB23 03 September 2020 by Nimbus2000 (USA)

I live in a small apartment, and this speaker is everything I need. The sound fills up the house and we've had some great dance parties in the last few months. I also never thought I would take calls from a speaker like this, but I accidentally connected to an incoming call one day and am never turning back. I've been empowered by hands free calling that lets me cook, do my makeup or really whatever I want while chatting with friends. I'm thinking about buying another one for my mom this Christmas. She's going to love it.

0

0

0

Fun speaker

SRSXB23/L 03 September 2020 by Layl1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this speaker because it fit in a cup holder. Love the fact it can go away and really crank the jams. It water proof and sounds great. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This speaker rocks

SRS-XB23 03 September 2020 by Balake23 (USA)

The speaker is water proof like completely. I no joke threw it in the deep side of the pool to test it and it still worked after. If you are looking for something that has a great sound and durable go with this one!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great color and sound

SRSXB23/L 02 September 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There isn’t another speaker out there in this shade of blue. I kind of think all of the speakers at this price point will sound similar, but this one grabbed my attention right away because of the unique color. Blue is my favorite color, and this one is just right. Can’t wait to start using it this weekend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for the price

SRS-XB23 19 August 2020 by ttown (USA)

Bought it today and have been rocking multiple genres to give it the full test run. Great sound for $79, out-of-the-box easy setup and pairing, small and compact (love that the design allows it to fit into cupholders!), and love the connectivity options. Not having it come with a brick was A PAIN.... Like for real? JUST a USB C cable?!? Insanity.... The app it comes with is complete trash. It's less intuitive than the SONOS app and that's saying something... I know it's a $79 speaker, but SONY is on it.... Come on.... Need to have better apps if you're going to tout it's features on the front of the box. TEN minutes to update the speaker ANNNNND I have to keep the app open and the devices next to each other? Idk of any piece of technology that requires you to brick your phone for 10 minutes..... Gotta be a better way. Overall this is and will be an affordable great product for the masses. Still happy with the purchase and I'll use the XB23 for quite some time. Just need to fix all the other stuff =)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Potentially the best portable speaker!

SRS-XB23 17 August 2020 by joint (United Kingdom)

I had to to spend a couple of weeks listening to the XB23 in different settings to get a full sense of what I thought of it after I received it. Listening to it in my garden, in the kitchen, in my bedroom and even in my bathroom (whilst showering). In the end the setting made no difference - the sound quality was simply excellent. From the moment I took it out of the box and ununwrapped it, the level of quality craftmanship was unmistakable. A smart blend of materials are used between what feels like a hard plastic/metal top and bottom frame, accentuated with a black mesh covered in cloth. The XB23 is surprinsingly a balanced combination of elegance, simplicity and yet reassuringly rugged and robust. I love listening to jazz mainly and the clarity in instrumentality is fantastic. When playing other genres of music with bass, I find the speaker can hold its own very well, allowing me to play my music (from my iphone) on max volume without distortion form the speaker. I have another good brand of portable speaker, and yet the XB23 just manages to go that extra couple of notches higher in volume, whilst keeping the clarity and allowing the EXTRA Bass to remain nicely noticeable. I haven't had need to use the party function, so I can't comment on that side. But looking at the cost of this portable speaker in comparison to what it delivers, to me this is almost arguably the best portable speaker on the market at the moment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Easy to use bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB23 17 August 2020 by adamwilliamr (United Kingdom)

This speaker has great sound, especially while standing on a hard surface to amplify the base. The sound doesn't distort even at full volume which is always a good thing. The software that comes with the speaker is easy to use with a few good options. Even one to pair speakers in stereo, or in a group. The finish of the speaker is great and feels robust enough to take out and about on family trip to the beach, or out for a picnic. There is even a handy hook on the carry handle to hang the speaker from a post or branch etc. Battery life seems good and it doesn't take long to charge either using a standard USB C port. The buttons on the back are easy to understand and have a good feel to them when pressed. Pairing the speaker with my phone was easy too. Would definitely recommend this speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great speaker with extra bass

SRS-XB23 17 August 2020 by Johnny (United Kingdom)

Received your Sony SRS-XB23 Extra Bass Speaker on Thursday 6th August in excellent condition. Unpacked speaker, read the instructions and put the speaker on charge. The code to use on a phone camera is an excellent addition to the instruction leaflet, this worked really well and was a great help, please put this on all Sony products. Connecting via Bluetooth was very easy, no problem. I have connected my iPhone and iPad. The control panel is a great feature especially the voice telling you it is connected to Bluetooth and the battery capacity. Being able to connect two together for stereo sound is a bonus. First time playing tried all sorts of music rock, country, classical, and pop all sounded great both base and treble, the bees being especially good. The build is really good, very sturdy, good looking, and will stand up to a lot of abuse. The controls on the speaker worked without any problems. My phone rang, and answering and conducting the call was flawless.I have used the speaker in the shower, it got very steamy but the sound was just great, and the moisture did not affect it in any way. I have used the speaker outside when doing the weeding in the garden, it was good to have music while I worked. Also while relaxing in my spare time in the garden. As I am disabled and use a motor scooter I put the speaker in the basket so I can have music on the go, better than the radio in my car.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

A brillaint addition to my "Gadget Family"

SRS-XB23 16 August 2020 by Tex52 (United Kingdom)

This speaker is so versatile,so far i've used it in the shower,in the garage,whilst gardening & down the beach.The set up is so easy,no disconnection issues at all as with some other bluetooth devices.The product looks and feels a lot more expensive than it actually is,I have to admit i've dropped it once and dreaded picking it up but not a mark on the speaker,The sound is so powerful for such a small speaker and easily controlled from my phone & tablet,also connects to my TV for added sound enhancement. Highly recommend this speaker for inside & outside the home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Looks good and the bass is excellent

SRS-XB23 16 August 2020 by Vicki (United Kingdom)

Already own the very good mobile speaker (XB10). The weight of the larger XB23 is 577gms, so is twice plus a little bit heavier. The XB10 is easily pocketed in a small bag, the XB23 less so. But the XB23 does what it says: crisper sound with a truly deep bass so fine for partying; BBQs and around the home., Very impressive. Negatives: the XB10 has an ‘audio input in case you don’t have Bluetooth on your source the XB23 does not! All my sound sources do not have Bluetooth!. The hanging strap should be moved to the side it hangs over the controls (minor point but irritated me a few times) Can’t really compare the two as they can perform best in different situations. One is easily transportable Andre sounds good the other has better sound but is heavier and bigger. For info, XB10 is 9cm tall and 7cms wide compared to the XB23 22cm by 7cm.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sony SRS-XB23

SRS-XB23 15 August 2020 by Pete (United Kingdom)

Great little speaker. From when you first take it out of the box, it looks and feels like a quality product, with its hard plastic top and bottom and a fabric mesh in between, also a rubberised base. The on, off, volume, etc. buttons are located on the back. Very easy to set up, just download the Sony music centre app and follow the on screen instructions. I was surprised just how good it sounded for a small light weight speaker, the sound is crisp and clear with good bass. You can also adjust the sound settings ie. mid, treble and bass to your own liking in the app. The SRS-XB23 is ideal for picnics, bbqs etc. or just relaxing in your back garden. The speaker is also waterproof which is great if you should get caught in a sudden downpour. There’s a removable wrist strap on the back which doubles as a hook should you want to hang the speaker up. Battery life is very good, I’ve been using it on and off for a week now, and only had to charge it once. I think the only thing that can improve this fantastic little speaker is to buy a second one and pair them for stereo sound. 10/10.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality

SRS-XB23 15 August 2020 by Shokurei (United Kingdom)

The speaker takes about 4 hours initially to reach full charge, then lasts about 12 hours. Connecting the Bluetooth to various devices was very straightforward and connected easily without any problems. It has a very nice design and feel and is about the size of a tube of Pringles. It has superb bass when stood up which gets even better when hung from the sturdy cord that comes with the speaker. I found the bass a little too much when listening to podcasts so I downloaded the Sony Music Player app. This allowed me to control the levels of bass, mid, and treble to suit any type of listening. The speaker is now in use across the house on a daily basis. All in all I am very pleased with the product. Definitely worth buying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

2

0

Does What It Says....And More!!...Quality

SRS-XB23 15 August 2020 by John121 (United Kingdom)

I received my Bluetooth speaker about 2weeks ago and previous to this I had a Bose one which I thought wouldn't have an equal,,, how wrong was I !!! It is claimed on the packaging that battery life is 12 hour, which I have surpassed this on a few occasions. You can tell the minute you open it, that it is quality and a Sony solid build and the sound as the product name suggests ' extra base ' is brilliant. My only slight concern was, I thought you would have to hang it with the chord attached to get the proper sound...again I was wrong, as the design allows the sound to reverberate, once it is placed on a solid surface. The bonus is that the speaker is allegedly waterproof too...but I hope never to find out how accurate this claim is. All in all, a fabulously put together product, which is ahead of its peers on quality and value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends, family, or indeed anyone wanting a superior sound speaker. Keep the good work up Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Rather good, but a little is wrong

SRS-XB23 14 August 2020 by Promethiumelemental (USA)

So, I own 2 of these, and previusly owned xb-41, and all the speakers that came from this family. So these are really good for the price, originally bought one to stay plugged to a wall and be aux'ed to my amazon smarthome device. am rather sad to see they dont have AUX input anymore, would make its alot better in my opinion. But otherwise well rounded sound, have 2 of these and ngl its cheaper then my xb41 and sound better paired compared to the 41. I am just praying these speakers wont blow out if accidentally left on full volume too long like other sony speakers i had proir. so yea, 2.1 stereo system thats easy to place and looks good? Well here is your answer. also sony, please centor the text on the speaker its killing me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to set up

SRS-XB23 13 August 2020 by Scooter66 (United Kingdom)

This little outdoor speaker has got a big voice. It comes with minimal packaging but well protected. I turned it on and it paired with my iPhone with no problems. The sound is great, and I could walk all around my garden and didn’t lose connection at all, it was rock solid.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

It bounces

SRS-XB23 13 August 2020 by LesJ57 (United Kingdom)

I recently received my XB23 Exrta base Bluetooth speaker. my first thoughts are that the instructions on the packaging and the documents accompanying the speaker were very difficult to read. Once I got past this The other thing that I noticed was that the rubberised casing incorporated the usage buttons which again proved very difficult to see, unless really close up. Pairing the speaker was straight forward, almost setting it self up which was nice. The Water resistance of the speaker is rated as IP 67 which was great meaning using it outside for parties was certainly no problem, if it rained. The battery (not removable) was charged vis USB C. After charging for the recommended 4 hours before use I was good to go, I would have liked a slightly longer USB C lead 50 mms is a bit measly. The USB C was housed behind a substantial rubber plug, certainly reassuring it's waterproofness. The battery usage was cited as 12 max. Not sure if this would last at a late night party at quite a high volume. The sound as you expect is rich and bassy, which you would expect given the name, "Extra Bass". The look and feel of the speaker is reassuringly robust, you feel it could be knocked over without any major problems. Overall the speaker is well built and could take being thrown in to a bag or on the back seat without any problems. It sounded very good delivering a rich bass sound. Set up was quick and easy particularly using Airdrop.I liked the product and would definitely buy another especially as you can pair them for a stereo sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Speaker has major problems day 1

SRS-XB23 02 August 2020 by Bigspeaker (USA)

I bought this last night and I'm so frustrated with myself for making such a terrible decision. I am connecting my Macbook audio to play through this speaker.... It keeps completely stopping the music and almost just has a seizure. My other speakers don't have this problem. Also, the bass sounds terrible no matter how I adjust the equalizer settings. For $100 I shouldn't have any problems like this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound for its size

SRS-XB23 17 July 2020  (USA)

Bought this on Amazon and have been using it for about a week now. For its size the sound is great the battery life is much lower if listening on full volume though

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best performance of any speaker I’ve had

SRS-XB23 13 July 2020  (USA)

I bought this yesterday and it is by far the best sounding mid sized speaker I have ever used Bass is deep mids are great and the highs are crisp would recommend to anyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound/weak battery?

SRS-XB23 10 June 2020  (USA)

I love the sound, but how am I down to 70% battery in 2 hrs? The extra bass is on with volume at about half so I’m starting to think it’s only gonna last me maybe 5 hrs rather than the 10 promised on extra bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

great features

SRS-XB23 29 May 2020 by andy20200529 (USA)

music works perfectly with multi device connections but sorry to see handsfree cannot work with multi device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB23 21 May 2020 by ChrisBB (USA)

I just bought this recently to keep this quarantine a little less boring, and I don't regret it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4