64

4.4 based on 64 customer reviews

46
8
3
1
6
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply Amazing

MDR-XB50AP 08 October 2017 by Chelsea2804 (USA)

I've have used a LOT of mid-range and high-end earphones and these blow all of them out of the water. The bass is beautiful, and the quality of sound is so pristine I don't have to have my volume up full blast to feel the music. The design is superb, these stay in my ears and don't hurt, you do have to twist them in to get the counterweight working, it feels like there's nothing in my ear at all! Something not a lot of people have mentioned is the microphone quality, people have said my voice sounds clearer through these than I do on my brand new Galaxy S8 unit by itself. I'm also really impressed with the price and will no longer be on the search for other products, I'll be repurchasing these for sure. I listen to a lot of dynamic tracks, bass variants and a wise range of genres so I can say with confidence these perform brilliantly no matter what you listen to. I also like that they're not totally noise-cancelling, but can easily drown out any environment including planes and trains to an enjoyable level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Issues

MDR-XB50AP 28 November 2018 by Coldstatic (USA)

I got these headphones just over 5 months ago. They sounded great. But for the last month when I plug them in they keep pressing the volume down. At first it was once or twice and now it's almost constant. I haven't used them in any rough way or sports like environment. I put them in the pouch when not in use. They still sound good but almost unusable due to them pushing volune down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

66 Customer Reviews

0

extra bass as the name says

MDR-XB50AP 20 January 2020 by suuthe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It lives up to its name- extra bass, but its not something everyone would enjoy. Mid and high frequencies compromised in favour of big muffled bass but with this price range I am happy with the sound. It broke after 5 months but was able to use one year warranty, so i am happy.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

5 stars if...

MDR-XB50AP 03 December 2019 by Wheels429 (USA)

I've owned several pairs of these headphones. I keep purchasing them because they are otherwise very good and meet my standards for sound quality. However, I feel it is worth mentioning the one huge issue I have with them. The plug. Rather, where the wires enter the plug housing. After several months of use the connection(s) inside begin to fail. It is a constant problem with these, from my experience. I modified my new pair accordingly. If sony were to improve the durability of the product I would gladly rate 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4 years later...

MDR-XB50AP 18 November 2019 by 1969torino (USA)

I have had these headphones for nearly four years and they still work perfectly. I work at a body shop and they are constantly getting dirty and beat up but never fail. They have been through the wash and still work fine. Sure they look gross but they still sound great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superior travel and work headphones.

MDRXB50AP/B 15 November 2019 by GeminiPlus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Chose this model while looking for a very discrete, good quality earphones that I could use for traveling. Included in the kit are a nice pouch bag and 4 pairs of silicone earpieces. The 3.5 mm terminal is 'L' shaped and thin. The cable is long enough to reach the side pocket of cargo pants comfortably. A slider is provided to adjust the aperture of the 'Y'. The earphones fit very properly. The Right earphone is identified with a very discrete red dot, but no tactile marks are provided. However, once you remember the control button (the 'multi-function button') is on the Left side, this is no longer an issue. This model delivers superior clarity during phone calls, which is something not properly advertised but that is immensely appreciated, if you like me spend a lot of time on the phone for work and during traveling, and need proper sound cancelling. For calls, the button on the remote controls answering and hanging up with precision, but it can't control volume (I didn't try the Smart Key downloadable app). However, where this model shines is for music playback, where the extra bass features become quickly evident. Using these earphones with the apple music on an android phone, finally allowed me to use the equalizer functions and notice differences between settings that simply were impossible to appreciate with other in ear headphones I had previously tried. The sound is very rich, subtle sounds are reproduced clearly (i.e. the clash of wooden drumsticks), and the bass is just perfect in a way that they don't choke the higher sounds. Amazing. Finally, these earphones have something else: They're really comfortable. They are unnoticeable even after prolonged day long use, making them a perfect choice for long flights and transits, either with your smartphone streaming service, or a Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best quality and value.

MDR-XB50AP 04 November 2019 by ND99 (USA)

I've had a pair for almost 5 years. They still sound just as good as new, but the jack is starting to cut out from constantly moving every day. These are very comfortable and drown out just the right amount of background noise. Will purchase again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fab

MDR-XB50AP 23 October 2019 by Travisman11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing quality Looking good too So happy to find them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Sound but poor built quality.

MDR-XB50AP 19 October 2019 by aldrin1015 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

2 months using this product and serves me well achieving a better sound experience and the bass is absolutely incredible, without any doubt sony is good in sounds and design, however the built quality of this product is not good as I expected considering the price tag that is equivalent to the (Apple) beats earphone this is 2 steps behind.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic Sound!

MDRXB50AP/B 25 September 2019 by Ricness (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Without a doubt the best earbuds that I have ever purchased... I have gone through about 10-15 pairs of earbuds (including Bose)... These are durable, Clean, and clear!! I like to sit and relax with either soft pop or smooth jazz and these really deliver..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hurts my ears

MDR-XB50AP 04 September 2019 by Unripe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The bit with the replaceable rubber that goes all the way into your ear is fine. But the next bit out is a hard plastic circular bit that nestles in your outer ear. This becomes painful after an hour or two, so I can't wear these headphones for long. Maybe it's just my ears, but I haven't had this issue with any other in-ear headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but not loud enough

MDR-XB50AP 04 September 2019 by ivvo (USA)

By reading the reviews, i was expecting more.The bass is okay, but they are not loud enough.They fit almost perfectly in my ears, so the noice cancellation is good too.I can not say anything about the durability, as i have them from 2 days, but we will see.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Quality

MDR-XB50AP 30 August 2019 by JacobC137 (USA)

Been using this model for years now, affordable, simple, mobile, incredible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really nice!

MDR-XB50AP 28 August 2019 by LoveThieves (USA)

The bass is really good. You can hear the lows pretty well and love brushed gun metal looking design on the exterior. I hate the cheap plastic-looking designs on a lot of other earphones in the same style.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great In-Ear Headphones

MDR-XB50AP 11 June 2019 by mhsmith1911 (USA)

I purchased these In-Ear Headphones in late 2017 and the cord was damaged getting out of my car in February 2019. I tried over cheap various models and just gave up. Had to replace them. The MDR-XB50AP In-Ear Headphones provide just the right amount of deep bass that I like and the mids and highs are so good I don't have to use an EQ app to adjust that range. Simply, you will not find better ear phones for under $50 anywhere! Outstanding job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Muddy muddy muddy

MDR-XB50AP 28 May 2019 by Paneristi (USA)

Bass is extremely heavy, just as you'd expect. Unfortunately, the mids and highs are terribly muddy. I regret ever getting these. Never again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0