74

3.1 based on 74 customer reviews

17
16
17
6
18
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice clean user interface but has SiriusXM issues

XAV-AX5000 26 May 2018 by jmz15 (USA)

I just installed the AX5000 in my truck. I really like how the user interface is very simple, clean, and responsive. The CarPlay functionality is also very responsive. However, I also have a problem with the sound quality of satellite radio. Using the SiriusXM tuner module I hear a lot of crackling/distortion in the signal, even on simple stuff like the traffic and weather channel. It sounds like the input level is set too high inside the unit and is being clipped/over-driven.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

77 Customer Reviews

0

Simple operation

XAV-AX5000 18 October 2019 by Sunzu (USA)

You don't buy a Sony for its software which is best described as 'simple' and a bit clunky or it's phone connectivity. You buy a Sony for its signal processor which everyone knows is the best. They don't make Walkmans that cost $3000 for no reason, but their $170 one sounds terrific. My AX5000 makes it very easy to get perfect sound with the bare minimum of adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Galaxy S7 Edge constantly needs to be reconnected

XAV-AX5000 10 October 2019 by JMCJR (USA)

I bought this 2 days ago and had it professionally installed, I am completely disappointed. I bought it SPECIFICALLY to work with my Android phone(Samsung S7 Edge). It works fine for about 3-10 minutes at a time then disconnects. I tried reviewing every setting on the phone and the Sony 5000. With no luck. Now on Sony forums I am reading that This Unit the 5000 has had this compatibility issue for a long time? Something that people are changing to a shorter USB cord out the back of the head unit? How the heck do I figure that out?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Amazing Headunit

XAV-AX5000 04 October 2019 by MrMoo (USA)

Most of these reviews complain about one little thing and bump the raiting down to 2 or 3. You should do research before spending hundreds on something. If it doesn't have the features you need don't buy it! This headunit is super responsive. It made my stock system sound better. Android Auto and Carplay work flawless (if it doesn't replace your usb cable).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Pretty Averege

XAV-AX5000 16 September 2019 by Jaswinder (USA)

I got this unit installed a week ago in 2013 Camry. I mainly bought this to use apple and android Car play. When I use the Waze app with android auto the top One-inch area is little blurry and it does't show the name of the road you are on as the Waze app shows on your phone.The second problem I encounter with my steering wheel controls. In my Camry I can not use the call button anymore instead I have to use voice to make a phone call. As a non-native English speaker it is not that easy to make Siri or google understand what you saying. I should be able to zoom in on maps and keep my desired settings as default but that option is not there. other than that its a good looking unit with a very responsive screen. I hope sony will consider addressing these issues in their next firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Best looking headunit...and that's it...run away!

XAV-AX5000 15 September 2019 by ericperry72 (USA)

I have had this unit since 3/2019 and I love the look. People think it's OEM in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Problem is the unit itself in regards to Android auto. Useless. I have updated the firmware, same issue, random disconnect, shutdown, I even went out and purchased a new Android phone, LG Stylo 4..same issue. I used the oem cable that came with the phone, same issue. Then tried it with a Note 10+...same issue. So not only can I not okay CD's, as this is a media player unit and it's what I wanted, but Android audio doesn't work with dropping. The car audio shop replaced the headunit...same issue. I give up. Sony I thought you were back esp after your amps and that nice hi-res headunit but now...I can't recommend your product. And 2v output? And lack of a decent xover section with some form of DSP is crazy considering what pioneer and Kenwood offer in their media only models. I would sell this radio but I don't wanna scam somebody else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Update

XAV-AX5000 14 September 2019  (USA)

After reading all the issues with Apple CarPlay I wish I had seen these reviews before purchasing. I tried a couple things I read about for trouble shooting. Changing cables-didn't work. Reboot my phone - didn't work. Deleting "Sony" from Car play memory - worked twice. Then I had to reboot the phone again. Worked once, then no longer worked even though I was removing Sony from Car play EVERY SINGLE TIME I UNPLUGGED THE PHONE. I bought this for the Car play. Obviously the reviews I read were from people that had the product for a short time. Piece of carp and waste of money.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great while it worked

XAVAX5000 14 September 2019 by Ronp68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about six weeks ago, it was installed five weeks ago and now Apple CarPlay does not work. I have switched cables, using multiple cables. Sporadically it will work, maybe once every ten times yet it shows the phone is charging every single time. I have rebooted my phone- no luck. Reading the warranty it says I need to send the radio in. I didn't install it for a reason, Im certainly not going to try to remove it. I will call customer service tomorrow to see how frustrated they can make me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Bad Wrap

XAV-AX5000 13 September 2019 by BlurryFace (USA)

So I have to admit, I was a bit reluctant after reading all of the reviews about this head unit, but I took the plunge anyways and couldn't be happier. What piqued my interest was the obvious, Android auto and Apple carplay after playing around with a few of my friends' cars that had these features. I had the unit professionally installed and have not had a single problem with it. The display is very responsive, Android auto works flawlessly and the power out of this thing is enough to make my rear view mirror vibrate with pretty much any song with the volume at 1/3 it's capacity. I'm convinced the negative reviews may be due to user error because I absolutely love this thing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Affordable

XAV-AX5000 03 September 2019 by Michael_ATL (USA)

I am very disappointed by the quality of this stereo. Software crashes on apple car play and sometimes doesn't read the USB 1 port. I changed the cable but no improvements. I checked the software version and it is up to date. I would not buy this thing again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Nice package but alas, CarPlay is unreliable

XAV-AX5000 23 August 2019 by E477 (USA)

Just purchased this unit. I like everything about it, except that CarPlay is unreliable. Sometimes it works, most of the time, not. I spent a lot of money to purchase the unit and get it installed with a backup camera. And the one feature I really wanted was CarPlay. Why is there no CarPlay icon on the screen to invoke it if the cable connection doesn't work? I've done all the troubleshooting steps, reset the unit, checked phone restrictions, swapped cables, etc. It just doesn't recognize the phone as being CarPlay enabled most of the time when it's plugged in. What a big disappointment. I'm taking it back and getting a competitive product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

Terrible Purchase

XAV-AX5000 09 August 2019 by Morgan24 (USA)

Bought my first AX-5000 in May, had it professionally installed and had an issue of not being able to hear people on the other end of the phone call. Sony sent a replacement radio to try and solve the initial issue. When I had the second radio professionally installed the same issue arose where no sound would come out of the speakers when on a phone call. BT radio worked, but never on phone calls. When I contacted Sony about a refund due to fear of the 3rd radio not working as well, I was informed that they couldn’t guarantee a refund, only a replacement and they could not reimburse any money paid for either install. I will never purchase another Sony radio period.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Don't waste your money

XAV-AX5000 08 August 2019 by Jenn7522 (USA)

I bought this specifically for Android Auto and it never works. I have tried different cables etc. Nope. Junk. I can't make it 5 miles without it shutting down, freezing, etc. Save your money and buy something better.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Very easy to use!

XAVAX5000 20 July 2019 by Waterboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the apple car play and Sirius radio and it’s so easy to use. Brought my 2006 Tacoma back to life!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Apple CarPlay does not work!

XAV-AX5000 28 June 2019 by Jon O (USA)

This unit is fantastic and I could say so many great things about it but there’s one glaring issue. Apple CarPlay does not work, I’ve tested several phones and several cables and nothing makes it work. I always get “usb device not supported”. Or it might actually connect for a second then it starts freezing and eventually stops entirely and disconnects. Sony please help me with Apple CarPlay. I’m not the only one on this issue. Several people on the forums have this issue. I’m on the latest firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Car Play not supporting

XAV-AX5000 29 May 2019 by Dalip (USA)

Excilent to use & touch panel but not supporting car play

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Great product.

XAV-AX5000 26 May 2019 by Davis246 (USA)

I love this receiver. I wanted it from the first day I saw it on Sony website. The features are good. I have an android so the android auto works.. ( you need to download the app on your phone ) . I just wished it played videos like Netflix and others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

0

Terrible Device /Lack of Support & Poor Car Play

XAV-AX5000 07 May 2019 by Unhappy_Sony_buyer (USA)

Main reason for purchase was to support Apple Car Play - it does not as of March 2019. Bluetooth reception is poor unless phone is close to the receiver. Looking to trade it in.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

4

0

Very Smooth.... But I Wish It Had MirrorLink!!!!

XAV-AX5000 06 May 2019 by NC508 (USA)

Very nice looking and sounding radio... The system's touch screen works very smooth and is also easy to understand the day to day operations of the radio.... My only complaint is there is not enough features like MirrorLink, A/V Inputs, Or a simple AUX plug... I understand that everything works threw the USB 1 or 2 on this radio but a few more features would put this radio over the top on all the other "high-end" systems out there..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not waterproof

XAV-AX5000 30 April 2019 by NO H (USA)

I had this installed in my 2016 CVO SG and the installer did not ask me the type of riding I do. I ride whenever, wherever. I don't trailer my bike. Well one slight rain day in Dallas and I lost all my display. Carplay functions work when I plug in my phone but I have nothing on the display. I loved the radio prior to this day and Lucky 7 Customs Cycles did nothing to help me out so most likely I will be going back to stock HD head unit until someone comes out with a waterproof unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

21

0

Love it

XAV-AX5000 17 April 2019 by JNM3 (USA)

I had the 5000 installed on my Harley and it's a world of difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simple and clean

XAVAX5000 12 April 2019 by Frankielb72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a great deal on a multimedia product. Went online to crutchfield, got the kit and harness. Done, sleek and loud for a head unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty disappointed

XAV-AX5000 08 April 2019 by jamills68 (USA)

I’ve had this system and I’m not so satisfied , they did not get the rear view camera hooked up so it only comes on when you are in reverse , I have to manually go to camera and turn it on and off. The call back quality isn’t so great , and last it has glitches where it has lost my settings and once it went to rear view camera and I had no control of system at all . When I had arrived home and turned key off and removed it then it functioned again. This is a lot to deal with for a 400 buck piece of equipment .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

apple carplay and simplicity, perfect

XAV-AX5000 08 April 2019 by Pablo Jr (USA)

I bought it about a month or 2 ago, the head unit powers up instantly and connects to my phone in no time. For the price I could not find anything better with the same elegant look and features. Plan on adding a back up camera eventually so that is also a major plus. Cannot beat the value, and its a Sony which means it will outlast my car. Only downside is not being able to upload images to display as screen wall paper.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely annoying

XAV-AX5000 03 April 2019 by Michigan worker (USA)

I use my truck for work. It's somewhat of a mobile office. This keeps disconnecting while on the phone with clients, disconnects from gps while in route to job sites, and WONT disconnect my phone when I turn my truck off. I'm constantly calling clients back after my car stereo drops them. Constantly disconnects my phone. The bottom model factory stereo worked all the time. I can't go an hour without some error, disconnect, then total restart. How is it still connected to my phone when I turn my truck off away? Same for both of my phones. AA takes over my phone controls so I can't switch to the headset. WARNING, AVOID THIS UNIT 2017 RAM 3500 Samsung S9...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Good features after a day. Will post more later!

XAVAX5000 09 March 2019 by mboatner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great so far! Will cone back after we've used iy so far and elaborate, but so far so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth Every Penny.

XAV-AX5000 10 February 2019 by Uncle Nutzy (USA)

I bought this for my Nissan Xterra (standard factory 6 speaker sound system not the Rockford Fosgate premium system so no factory amp or subwoofer) and am very impressed with the wide range of functions and capability yet operation is so simple. The touch screen is very responsive and intuitive without being overly sensitive and fingerprints/smudges don't show as much as others I've seen. The display is bright and clear but not glaring. The sound output is breathtaking with crystal clear highs, mid ranges are not papery at all and bass is layered, deep and full with zero distortion at high volume. Works flawlessly with android auto using Waze and Spotify apps. I see some people reporting problems here and I think those may be due to them having bluetooth and USB 1 (Car Play/Android Auto) connected simultaneously. Use a good USB cable and disable bluetooth completely (not just disconnected but DISABLED) on your phone before connecting to Android Auto or Apple carplay. The backup camera is fantastic. The remote is good to have mainly for skipping tracks and adjusting volume without having to reach out to the unit and though I have seen much worse it could benefit from being a little more tactile and intuitive. The volume buttons are easy to locate though. I am beyond happy with this puchase. It doesn't just improve the vehicles sound system it improves the entire driving experience through better, broader yet simpler functionality, enhanced safety and refinement. I highly reccomend this unit for just about anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good Unit

XAV-AX5000 10 February 2019 by BIG MOOSE (USA)

Got the unit for Christmas and I installed it myself. Great sounding unit. Only issue is that I can't use the USB cables for my Apple I-POD that I wish I could.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Unit but with Issues

XAVAX5000 24 January 2019 by lawmac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit primarily for the Android Auto function. When it works, it works great, but there seems to be a problem that I do not think is unique to this particular unit but all after markets units. The USB connection is very sensitive and will disconnect the phone from the head unit without warning. All I can recommend is using the best quality USB cable available. My particular phone uses a Type C which appears to be even more sensitive than other types of cable connectors. I usually have to disconnect the cable from the phone and reconnect, and AA will run again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Horrible Voice call quality

XAV-AX5000 21 January 2019 by Jimbo33 (USA)

Let’s start off with the good. CarPlay is responsive and works well. I don’t spend much time outside of CarPlay, as the Bluetooth calling and folder music search features are rather clunky. Now the bad. I’ve had this unit for 3 months, and have upgraded firmware, tried 3 different mics, and still have terrible voice call quality whether on Bluetooth or over Carplay. I get cutouts on the speakers during a call, but never with radio or music playing. The call receiver consistently cannot hear me, and says it sounds like I’m talking from inside a fishbowl. Putting the OEM car stereo back in immediately solves phone call distortion, as does using airpods, so this is not a poor cell reception or location issue. It only involves this unit. It so bad with this unit, that I pop in airpods for a call, then have to remove so music will play from the speakers afterwards. There’s been many wasted hours on tech support, and tearing the dash apart to try different mics, mic locations, and eventually trying the OEM stereo (which sadly works flawlessly). I’ve been a devout Sony purchaser for 20 years, but never again for automotive.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Great sound

XAV-AX5000 13 January 2019 by dinoroar (USA)

I had a fun time installing this device in my 2002 Honda CRV, but it worked out at the end. Great sounding system. The only thing that caught me by surprise was that you have to use the USB cord for android auto and carplay, but that was my fault.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Screen goes blank

XAVAX5000 12 January 2019 by Bonefish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With in a few hours of installation the screen went blank, you have to hit the home button then select whatever function you were using and it comes back up. Sometimes steering controls work and sometimes not.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing!!!!

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by OrangeAvy (USA)

The sound quality of this radio is amazing!! Super easy to use and the Apple CarPlay is great. Google maps and Waze work amazing! A must buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great upgrade for Harley Davidson

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by Brnrbr247 (USA)

Bought unit for my Harley Davidson and it works great. Screen looks sleek mounted in dash and is very visible during the day when riding. I liked it so much I had 2 more installed in my vehicles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Absolutely the BEST Value!!

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by Reillys77 (USA)

I absolutely love this unit! Super clean design, easy user interface and CarPlay works flawlessly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best CarPlay unit on the market

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by Caraudioguy (USA)

Fast, responsive, easy to use, not over done with complicated features and menus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great value, great features

XAV-AX5000 07 January 2019 by ghettojay (USA)

Great unit easy to use. Looks great indash and sounds amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in dash on the market.

XAV-AX5000 07 January 2019 by Dobslob (USA)

I can’t say enough good things about this piece. It seems most reviews complain that it isn’t something else, but I’m thrilled with what it is and what it does. I have had zero issues with my iPhone connected to the radio and it does everything I want. I will have one in every vehicle that I can fit one into.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not work with ipod Touch

XAV-AX5000 29 December 2018 by NickAudio (USA)

Bought the unit to use with ipod touch, will not read using USB. Is there a fix to this or do I need to return it?!

3

18

0

Looks good but Functions weirdly

XAV-AX5000 29 December 2018 by EDisEPIC (USA)

I bought this thinking I was getting a high end product and in some aspects I did. The unit itself looks nice, runs noticeably fast on Android Auto and the back up camera and radio functions work great. But Android Auto on this unit is buggy. The screen will randomly go grey making you exit completely to restore what you were doing or will randomly just exit to the stock Sony screen which then you have to click on the AA button to go back to AA and then you have to go back into maps and let the maps recalulate. all these things take away from the safety aspect of having a smart/Android auto unit.and for costing as much as it does I expected better. I really hope that Sony releases a firmware update with some fixes. these bugs are present on my Pixel 3, OnePlus 6T and Samsung Galaxy S7. None of these bugs have showed up on any other Android auto units I've used. The last thing I think this unit needs is a brightness slider for the rear camera. my camera is really washed out with this unit and if I had the ability to tone it down that'd be great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

13

0

AA works great but Bluetooth calls are an issue

XAV-AX5000 20 December 2018 by DanNJ (USA)

Had this unit for over a month and had to have a second one installed due to poor call quality through Bluetooth and AA. Speakers are crackling when on a call. No issues with playing music or receiving directions from AA. Unit is bright, responsive, and fast. playing music off a thing drive is tedious and you can only shuffle within one folder so if you have music organized by band and then album no dice on shuffling that discography you proudly made. Truly hope Sony is able to address these or I'll be looking for a new unit and a refund

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

11

0

Android Auto drops, Charges slow, the rest works

XAV-AX5000 20 December 2018 by AlessioTheTruth (USA)

Well. You buy this unit because it has android auto. Which is very problematic on my android OnePlus3t phone. Fully updated new firmware installed on the head unit. My phone is the latest android 8.0.0 i found it to work better when i removed facial unlock features. Now i have to restart my phone once a day to get it to work. All the music apps have to be opened on the phone first then you can get them o function on the head unit. Pretty dissapointed. Hope they fix this if its on sony side ,which i believe it is since my phone works fine on my mothers subaru with built in AA and Carplay 2018 model. I also tried my fathers onplus 5t and the same issues with this head unit. The other features work fine, radio is great, back up camera which i installed is great. The phone option works wonderfully and everyone can hear me fine with no funny noises or echoes.=, honestly the phone is the best part of this head unit which i use often. THE FAST CHARGING is the opposite. NOT FAST its actually so slow that if your phone is on it will drain while plugged in. NOT GOOD, especially if your phone is on and running apps while charging, my 7-eleven charger with 2.1 and 1.1 amps work much faster. Head unit always tells m it does not recognize my usb source when using my phone to play songs off it. had to get a usb stick and even then it was only able to recognize certain file types. movies in mp4 but not mp3 weirdd. If sony doesnt fix this via firmware. Ill never buy another sony head unit ever and instantly go to alpine. Sorry. Wanted to love this headunit but it just has basic core functions that dont work. The screen is responsive, which in 2018 not a shocker but at this point ill take anything I can to brag about this head unit. I hear the 100 model sony is better. Maybe stick with that.,

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

13

0

Nice display, siriusxm and backup camera.

XAVAX5000 08 November 2018 by Nickyd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works great as advertised. Has siriusxm and backup camera

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lacking

XAV-AX5000 07 November 2018 by subsquoch (USA)

Installed this into my wifes vehicle. Updated the firmware. Unit works fine but is lacking in terms of features. My main complaint is that her new 6th gen, 32gb, Ipod touch isnt compatible with this unit via either of the USB ports. When I connect the touch via BT I am able to make the connection and play the music but I cannot select different folders - I can only listen to the music in the order it is in the ipod and when all songs from a particular artist are played, the music stops. Pretty disappointed...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

19

0

You get Android auto and good sound but thats it.

XAV-AX5000 05 November 2018 by 9walker (USA)

If you are looking for a unit that plays music and do android auto. This is it. Android auto works perfectly. The sound quality is exceptional. But come on!! Its year 2018 and I cant change the wallpaper or customize desktop. Is that too much to ask for a 400 dollars unit?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

15

0

It Would be a great Head Unit.....

XAV-AX5000 26 October 2018 by Bevinet (USA)

As far as I am aware this is pretty much the top of the line, but Android Auto is failing and see lots of people in the support forum having the same experience as I am. My installer did a great job and the unit works fine, but AA keeps disconnecting and I know this is not an issue with my phone or cables as my wifes car (which has AA) is just fine. In my opinion, Sony need to provide an update for this to fix these know issues. I have no idea if Apple Car Play has similar issues or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

13

0

JoJo-75

XAV-AX5000 21 October 2018 by JoJo 75 (USA)

Had this for awhile now and have found some odd quirks with this unit. First, when starting a song using Carplay, the very beginning gets chopped off. Same happens when making a call, Siri’s voice gets chopped off at the beginning when she asks, Who do you want to call. Happens all the time. Also happens when she reads a text back to you. Secondly, I periodically lose my eq settings when using Carplay. The 10 band eq reverts back to off, the fader changes my speaker settings to front only, and the Extra bass shuts off completely. Again, these 3 things happen all at once when this issue occurs but oddly enough I have found that if you just change your output source to Sirius, or AM/FM, the settings revert back to where you had them, keeping you from having the manually fix all of the above settings. Again, only happens while using Carplay. Very frustrating while driving. I applaud them for fixing the Sirius issue with the first firmware update but I’m hoping they don’t abandon this stereo as I’ve noticed they’ve rolled out 3 new Carplay units. Sidenote, I also have purchased an XAV-AX3000 which is very simliar, and am having the same exact issues with that unit as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Decent, but not worth the price

XAV-AX5000 17 October 2018 by Joshuadj22 (USA)

This head unit was decent, but nothing worth getting excited about. The display was average, there were NO customization options in the menus (no changing wallpaper, changing icons, setting a timed dimmer and so much more) you will get bored quickly. It does a great job with Android auto. That is the center piece of this device. I returned my unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

12

0

Lack of basic features

XAV-AX5000 11 October 2018 by NAVIGATOR0790 (USA)

No custom Wallpapers or the option to change the buttons lights, beside that it’s a nice sterio.....simple and elegant:-) .....Sony please update it with the missing basic features that every other manufactory normally include in their product

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

21

0

Disappointing

XAV-AX5000 05 October 2018 by Jeff Harless (USA)

I bought this after reading reviews under many doubts that it would be everything I wanted. The salesman assured me I could return it if things didn't work out, my biggest concern being my high storage IPOD not working with it. I've used it more than a week now and I do love using Android Auto with the hands free voice controls and Spotify. That does however require me to have Spotify Premium in order to avoid ads and allow the playing of albums in their entirety. There has been a time or 2 that it's needed reset but nothing habitual. That's about the extent of what really works though. My 7th generation IPOD classic will not work at all, not recognized. No way at all to play it through the USB inputs. Using it is going to require me to get a Bluetooth adaptor and use it that way. People have mentioned before that any device over 32G will not be recognized, but it also does not recognize my wife's IPOD touch of 32G. I'm seriously doubting anything besides a phone is going to be recognized with the USB ports, so rather pointless having 2 of them that aren't going to work with anything. Miss my high storage music greatly on the IPOD being controlled by the head unit as was my old stereo. So added expense of Bluetooth adaptor and IPOD will now have to be charged on cigarette lighter with separate source. Spotify to me is nothing but annoying without being ad free and full albums, so there's that monthly expense to make this unit somewhat enjoyable. Seems like they could have made this thing a LOT more compatible with other common tech. Will keep it but it's highly annoying to have to buy so much additional equipment and subscriptions to get it functional.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

14

0

Follow up from yesterday's review

XAV-AX5000 03 October 2018 by pkysjcAgain (USA)

I posted a review yesterday (as physic) about CarPlay not working anymore after a phone upgrade. I kept trying things and finallyI got CarPlay working. I had to delete the connection (CarPlay in Settings app), reboot the phone and then reconnect, and now it works. Not sure why, since I did not have to do this with the other car with CarPlay that I use the same phones with. It would have been nice to have some help from Sony on this.. Oh well Now, the big remaining complaint is with Sirius XM.. it just shows channel numbers not names like every other SXM compatible receiver I have ever used. If that was fixed, then I would give it a 5 star rating. Sony would not let me revise the review or post a second one, so I had to do this with a different user name and email address.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Does not work with new iPhone XS Max

XAV-AX5000 03 October 2018 by pkysjc (USA)

I got this about a month ago, and was initially quite happy with it. Good sound, Car Play worked fine with our iPhone X's on iOS 11. I just upgraded the iPhone to an XS Max. The AX5000 does not see it at all. If I try my wife's iPhone X, now with iOS 12, it works fine. My XS Max works fine in our other car with a non-Sony audio system, with full Car Play functionality. So, that says its the Sony unit that is not compatible. I looked at the firmware upgrade instructions, and you need access to BOTH USB ports. Well, my install only has one of them brought out of the dash. So I have to go back to the installer to get him to open things up to do the update. A real major pain! And in a half hour of searching this website, there is NO way to actually ask a question! Lots of FAQ's, none of which cover this situation. Summary, I was quite happy at first, but now I really want to return the unit! Oh by the way.. the Sirius XM works fine, but the display only shows channel numbers, not the channel name. Not so great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

13

0

Needs another firmware update

XAV-AX5000 13 September 2018 by batomato (USA)

Upgraded my old xav ax100 with the ax5000 but kinda regretting it now. The only thing better than the previous model is the really fast boot up time, bigger screen and the sound quality is a little bit better. also updated the firmware to 1.01 after installation. what i miss from the ax100 is the USB music folder sort, every folder in the flash drive was so organized, and on the ax5000 total opposite. and if you have a lot of files in the drive selecting a folder and song gets really slow or unresponsive. didnt have that problem on the ax100. also had a problem with bluetooth calls once in a while where after placing a call there's no sound coming from the speakers, so i have to hang up then call again. i wouldn't recommend upgrading your ax100 or 200 for the ax5000 if your main source of music is from your usb flash drive until sony fixes this problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

6

4

0

Great product

XAVAX5000 08 September 2018 by Gofiz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No modifications required except for a Metra DP-3002B Dash Panel. Perfect fit into a 2001 Sierra without any cutting required inside the dash compartment leaving plenty of room for wiring.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

AM tuner does not work on this unit

XAV-AX5000 12 August 2018 by Dudexyz (USA)

No AM tuner!! Tried 2 I it’s, both had NO AM tuner. - returned.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

15

0

Firmware update.

XAV-AX5000 04 August 2018 by Joe 75 (USA)

The first firmware update, 1.01, corrected my biggest complaint with this unit. It brought the output level down on Sirius XM and got rid of the clipping and distortion. I mainly use Apple Carplay and Sirius and have no complaints. So far, so good. Very nice, and nice looking unit. Fits my 2018 Subaru Legacy perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good radio but missing functions

XAV-AX5000 31 July 2018 by Anthony93277 (USA)

It’s a good radio but it’s missing must have features like custom wallpaper and usb2 media playback . These are a killer for me and I might end up returning it and getting a head unit with those features .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Good overall design, but extremely flawed

XAV-AX5000 31 July 2018 by Feeshta (USA)

Have had this unit in the car for a little over 2 months now, and while I like the overall design and function of the unit, it has several fatal flaws, particularly with Android Auto and USB audio. One note on the operation, this device does not have pinch to zoom capability, despite using a capacitive touch screen. Don't let that fool you. when I initially purchased the unit, I had an iPhone 6S. Apple CarPlay seemed to work reasonably well, with a few exceptions. For example, if your phone makes any other sounds, such as you have Waze running manually, the unit will pause USB playback and not resume following the interruption, forcing you to navigate back through the menu to your USB drive and manually unpause after every notification. You can bypass this by simply not connecting the phone to the unit, but then you lose the ability to make hands-free calls and get message dictation, so why bother paying for a unit with CarPlay? Last week, I switched to an Android phone, and have found that Android Auto function is, frankly, horrible with this unit. The connection to Android Auto frequently drops out, and only unplugging and replugging the phone restores it, most of the time. Other times the unit will say that your device is unsupported, and refuse to recognize the phone at all. Even when it does work, the resolution is laughably poor. On Waze for example, it is completely washed out looking and barely legible. Another issue is that my Android phone will often not successfully pair with Bluetooth, despite saying that it is. Bluetooth audio works only sporadically at best. I tried to bypass the issues with Android Auto this way, but even that doesn't work properly. Finally, this unit apparently has an exceptionally small USB drive size compatibility. I have a 128GB USB drive that I use for music storage, which is nearly full. The unit will recognize this drive, and I can play music from it, but about half of the music on the drive will not appear in the menu. Further research turned up this little gem in instructions for upgrading the firmware. "The XAV-AX5000 does not support USB storage devices over 32GB". Well isn't that just lovely? Makes me wonder if the fact that my phone is 64GB may have something to do with the issues with Android Auto? Right now, the only hope for this unit is that Sony can pull a rabbit out of the hat and fix it's many flaws with a software update. For now, I would recommend avoiding this unit completely, especially if you were looking to use Android Auto, Bluetooth audio, or USB drives over 32 GB.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

14

5

0

Very poor integration with phone book

XAV-AX5000 23 July 2018 by Stuartxt (USA)

The management of phone numbers is at a stage where the unit is UNUSABLE. I have synced my iPhone 6s via bluetooth to the phone book. The contacts go across and display OK, but when I try to use one of the contacts, the complete number does not appear and the call can not be made. There apperas to be a serious flaw in the software as it would seem that a phone number 'breaks' if it has a space in it. The space is pre-formatted in the iPhone so there is nothing I can do to change it. The Sony system does not let you edit a number so I can't fix it there, and the Sony system does not have the ability to ADD a number into the phone book so I can't do a work around anywhere to make this otherwise great unit usable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

7

3

0

Good, just needs a few tweaks

XAV-AX5000 19 July 2018 by DrewG (USA)

Had it for about a month now and like it but needs a few tweaks. Pros: fast response, nice screen resolution, nice touch response, AA works well Cons: can't search music on usb (artist, album, etc.), music on usb not sorted in any way, playback of music on usb doesn't show album artwork, wish I could make the screen a bit brighter, can't change wallpaper, can't change button colors

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great when it works

XAV-AX5000 17 July 2018 by Sanders630 (USA)

Waited since first mentioned for this the XAV 5000. Quality materials and smooth operation at least with the Sony side of things. Andriod Auto is a mess. I checked for an update and none so far per this website. When using AA after so long the screen (map, phone screen) gets washed out and pixelated. It only does this when using AA for prolonged trips/usage. I can select the main menu and go right back to AA and it clears it up for a while. I use this headunit for my job with navigation and handsfree communication with customers. I have even had the Unit do a hard reset in the middle of driving on the highway. It lost my phone information and I had to re establish the BT handshake process. I hope really soon they come out with an update to resolve these issues. Along with the main complaints mentioned in the other posts (background customization/ music cataloging, etc...) . There is great potential for this unit but, right now I am having buyer's remorse. I expect more of a polished product from SONY. We shall see.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great upgrade to my 2006 Audi A3

XAV-AX5000 04 July 2018 by jgrpdx (USA)

I bought this unit to add Android Auto to my 2006 Audi A3 and installed it myself with the addition of a third party wiring harness and steering wheel control unit. I like the quick and reliable response of the capacitive touch screen. The two USB inputs are handy but only USB1 has support for ExFAT filesystems, which I hope will be fixed with a firmware update. I've not been able to program the custom steering wheel controls so only some of my controls are functional in the preset mode. Overall very good but expecting some enhancements in future firmware, maybe even Wireless Android Auto?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

USB Ports

XAV-AX5000 24 June 2018 by Fudd (USA)

I bought and had the unit professionally installed. They did a great job and also have the reverse camera that is very clear. What I dislike is the ability of the USB Ports. Only 2.0 speed. Why not have the faster 3.0 USB Ports. I only have 3.0 USB drives and it took a lot of research to determine this info. It’s not readily available in the manual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

General Features

XAV-AX5000 22 June 2018 by Nofearmamba (USA)

Older Sony models had the capability to add your own custom wallpapers. Why did you take away the capability in your newest Model Sony XAV-AX5000 Please add this feature

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

24

4

0

sleek design

XAV-AX5000 21 June 2018 by wayne d (USA)

So far the unit is what I was looking for. M biggest complainant is sony removed the option to add a custom background. That sucks. Sony, if you actually read these posts bring in back as an option hopefully through a firmware update. thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Good, with a Firmware update could be Great.

XAV-AX5000 16 June 2018 by Joe Leeper (USA)

I replaced my Harley Boom 6.5 Radio for this one. I really like the radio, but I am really wanting the custom background option of the AX100 and AX200. I would also like an option to turn off SXM as a source like you can turn off Rear Camera. I look forward to the first Firmware update. Thanks, Joe

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

2

0

Love this unit, although SXM has fixable issues

XAV-AX5000 11 June 2018  (USA)

I bought this unit with the expectation of solely using CarPlay and it works fantastic. The screen appears to have a faster refresh rate than the 200 (which i recently swapped out for the 5000). Buttons and quality of the unit are top notch and I have no issues with the touchscreen while in CarPlay. Feels very similar to an iphone/ipad. I also think the colors are much more vivid in the 5000 over the 200. The fitment of the unit is the cleanest of any aftermarket double din I've ever seen. For that reason alone, it's so worth it. I just love how good it looks mounted flush with my dashboard (picture attached). To jmz15's earlier review, I completely agree. The SXM input sounds over-modulated and you can hear slight crackling in the high end. This is particularly noticeable with talk radio programs and the tinny sound kind of drives me nuts. Hoping this can be fixed soon with a firmware update. The 200 did not have this issue with the SXM module whatsoever. Otherwise, the sound on all other inputs is amazing. Really like the DSO enhancement, as it really adds a lot of presence to the sound. The amp is really powerful and remains clean at high volume. It would be nice if you could change the colors of the panel buttons to match your dash (you can with the 200 after the recent firmware update). Also, they don't have a menu screen on the SXM that allows you to manually enter the 3-digit channel numbers. This was helpful when programming favorite channels, and for some reason, this menu screen is in the 200 but not in the 5000. The native interface is very clean and appealing but it can be clunky. Some menu items seem to be slow functioning (SXM browsing in particular). However, I do like how easy it is to wrap your head around and learn, as a vast amount of other aftermarket car touchscreens seem way over-complicated, almost having too many features for their own good. Overall, this ins't really an issue with me, because like I said, I only really use the CarPlay interface. Overall very happy with the product. Hard to beat considering what you get for the price in my opinion. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Apple Carplay works well

XAV-AX5000 10 June 2018 by EG85 (USA)

The unit has a clean interface and Apple Carplay works really well. However, when it comes to using the USB2 to listen to music there are a few serious flaws. The music is sorted almost at random. In addition, there is no way to sort by song, album, or artist. The interface is severly lacking in this area. If you rely heavily on listening to music on a USB avoid this unit until the software has been updated to include these features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Not being able to use custom wallpapers

XAV-AX5000 09 June 2018 by Wazoo (USA)

The prior model double din Sony XAV-AX200 has the capability to add your own custom wallpapers. Why did you take away the capability in your newest Model Sony XAV-AX5000

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

2

0

Good product

XAV-AX5000 01 June 2018 by Mike B90 (USA)

Really good product. One thing I can't believe is that you can't upload your own image for the wallpaper. Hopefully there is a firmware update for this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

4

0

CarPlay, big screen, easy to use

XAVAX5000 28 May 2018 by TheMayorofKoalaCorner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just finished installing and reading the product manual. Both were straight forward and uncomplicated. This unit is easy to operate and functions very well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Review of my XAV-AX5000

XAV-AX5000 28 May 2018 by Ian0 (USA)

I've had my XAV-AX5000 for a few days now and wanted to add some commentary, as I expect others may have been like me and eagerly awaiting reviews before they make the purchase. I selected this Sony over the competitors after I had some hands-on time with the other units and really disliked their messy looking, cluttered interfaces. I wanted something clean and simple. At the time I only had the XAV-AX200 as a comparison, but from a UI standpoint it's functionally the same. The unit is quick to power up, and quick to switch to my reverse camera. Those who have been concerned about having to click that ridiculous warning message every time they get in their car will be happy to know that it automatically goes away after two or three seconds. Given how quickly the unit starts up, it's pretty much out of your way before you ever start really using the unit. As quick as it is to start up, I've actually found the responsiveness of the buttons rather slow. This unit has the captivate screen, but it does not respond like you would expect a cell phone to. I find myself unsure if it's registering my presses, so wind up pressing harder sometimes, or multiple times, like you do with a resistive. This is very pronounced when viewing the list of artists (or folders) off the second USB interface. The whole idea of having two USB interfaces is so that you can have your phone connected to one, and your big ol' collection of music on the second. And, that's how I've got mine set up. The problem is that with a fully-loaded 64GB USB stick full of my music, the responsiveness is really unacceptable. I can count over one second of delay between the page down button and when it responds. With that much music on there, you can forget about trying to quickly page down through your files and find something. There is a scroll bar, but I don't think it works, because it never seems to respond to my clicking. Either that, or it's beyond any kind of a reasonable response time for me to wait. This would be a lot more palatable if there was a way for me to search for an artist or song, but there isn't. I can't even select by first letter. I was curious was the transfer speed was of these USB interfaces, and I don't know if this has an impact here or not, but the first USB interface (for your phone) is USB 2.0, and the second interface (for your music thumbdrive) is USB 1.1. Yes, you read that right. USB 1.1. There's one more separate problem I've got with the music navigation. It doesn't order folder names properly. I have absolutely no idea what it's thinking. For the most part, it does seem to be in alphabetical order, but there's occasionally a folder that is way out of order. For example, I'll have three or four "A" folders in order, and then there will be an "I", and then more "A" folders, and then a "K", and then back to my "A" folders, and so on and so forth. I threw the stick back in my computer and looked at it to see if it was trying to order by date or some other type of meta data, but nothing I saw matched up even close. Alphabetizing shouldn't be hard, but apparently this Sony can't do it properly. Also, you can't select between a listing of songs and artists or albums. You just get the folder list, and then you get the list of songs when you click in the folder. Really basic navigation, that doesn't work well. I was disappointed that this did not come with HD Radio. If you're not already aware of that, now you know. It's pretty disappointing that a unit like this in 2018 doesn't come with what I would consider that fairly basic feature. There is hardly any customization you can do on this unit. I actually went to the manual to look and see if I was missing how to access all the options. There's really very little you can do with it. It would be nice, for example, for the XM Tuner to not display if you don' t have that source. As it is now, from the main display/menu I have to swipe on the sources list to get the USB2 interface to show up, because that extra non-usable XM icon forces the USB2 icon off the screen. So in summary, it has a clean interface, but really doesn't offer that much else. The better screen is nice but not great enough. The extra USB interface is worthless to me since I can't use it to load up and navigate through my music. I really feel like I didn't get much value here. I got a unit that just plays songs off the radio (non-HD) and can do car play/android auto (without wireless) for music (where I'll have to keep all my songs for accessibility). In other words, rather like the phone dash mount to my stock radio over Bluetooth that I was using before. Sony, if you are at all listening, you must fix the following items on this unit via a firmware update: 1. Buggy sorting of folders from USB media 2. Unacceptable responsiveness of page up/down navigation of USB media with a large number of files/folders 3. Ability to switch between a "folder" / "artist" / "album" / "song" view when navigating through the USB media 4. Ability to locate a "folder" / "artist" / "album" / "song" from these views by having an alphabetic selection or search screen

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

13

1