1099

4.5 based on 1,099 customer reviews

801
172
60
22
44
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony wireless head phones

WH-1000XM5 12 January 2024 by Goanpat (United Kingdom)

These headphones arrived last week and I find it difficult to put them down. The sound quality for the price is very good, and the light weight means that they are comfortable to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Failed after 18 months

WH-1000XM5 10 April 2024 by b00541 (United Kingdom)

I love these headphones, they are fantastic but they died after only 18 months. For a premium product that is terrible. The right speaker has stopped working and from looking online it seems to be a common problem with this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

1,109 Customer Reviews

0

Great features, comfortable fitting

WH-1000XM5 23 April 2024 by Gia221 (United Kingdom)

I dont even have to take them off when talking to someone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound, Terrible Tech

WH-1000XM5 23 April 2024 by Swall (United Kingdom)

I gave these 3 stars on the retailers website after 6 weeks of use when the headset was still causing me tremendous pain, however after 3 months they are now almost as comfortable as the XM4s. The thin headband still causes strong discomfort at times, but I sometimes think I'm wearing the XM4s and vice versa, so they are almost on a par. There are a lot of negatives when it comes to the tech, however the sound quality is for the most part so much better than the XM4s, which were already fantastic. The sound is so smooth, for the first few days I found myself rocking from side to side in enjoyment (until the pain of the headband offset this after 30 mins of listening). Most noticeable is the midrange; vocals sound so much more authentic and detailed, whilst backing vocals really come to the fore, making these ideal for worship music. Most classical music benefits from these headphones as well, with violins in particular sounding natural, whilst piano notes are reproduced cleanly and with full pleasing resonance. However, I was at first concerned with energetic classical music such as Dvorak's Slavonic Dances, which just sounded incredibly flat with the XM5s but was one of the best performing pieces on the XM4s. Yet now that the headphones are burnt in, they almost match the energy of the XM4s. I think the remaining slight discrepancy is due to the greater clarity, as this often removes an artificially exaggerated sense of energetic presence. There are no issues with pace and energy in other types of music, such as rock and pop, as the bass is much tighter with the XM5s (if not as deep). There is also so much more detail revealed by the XM5s in general, which really contributes to synth music from the 80s and 90s, Duran Duran’s “Greatest” album for example being given a new lease of life with these headphones. Oddly, there is no noticeable difference from the XM4s with music by REM and U2, which must have something to do with the recording soundscapes for these artists. But the most noticeable difference I found was in music by Jack Savoretti, which with the XM4s is comparable to a glass of fine wine but with the XM5s is more like a thick glass of port, more rich and full. Now for the negatives. For the first few days I wanted to smash the headset against the wall and then jump up and down on it, it was causing me so much pain. A saner head had me almost returning them. Thank goodness I didn't, now that they have softened up and I have learnt to mostly ignore the pressure of the heaband. The material of the earcups was also noisy to the point of distraction if I dared to move my head or even clench my jaw at first. Out of the box, it sounded like someone was rustling sweet rappers in my ears. But these issues have now mostly gone. But the biggest issue of all has not changed one iota. The noise cancelling is adaptive, which is quite simply absolutely rubbish. Move or tilt your head with an extractor fan on, either in the kitchen or when sitting on the toilet, and the noise cancelling loses the ability to cancel the noise of the fan - I've found that if I shake my head it restores it, which is odd to say the least. Or if a motorbike goes by my house (which they very often do on the ringroad I live by), the "noise cancelling" creates a ton of windy static for about 10 seconds that is worse than the actual noise it's trying to cancel. And unlike the XM4s, where you can turn off the adaptive noise cancelling (which I did very early on), the XM5s make it mandatory. Absolutely ridiculous and very arrogant of Sony to no longer offer the choice to their customers. The rest of the tech is just bad. The touch controls, unlike the XM4s, are terrible. Most of the time they are unresponsive, which means you can no longer swiftly turn down the volume when, say, YouTube switches to noisy adverts, leaving you with deafening sound until you manage to slowly bring the volume down. I’ve never been a fan of touch controls, they cause so many issues when your arm accidentally brushes them, so hopefully Sony will incorporate physical controls on future models, as many other manufacturers have already learnt to do. The command sounds are more intrusive than the XM4s. You now get a double blip instead of a single blip when changing volume - why we need a blip at all when we can already hear the volume is changing is beyond me. At least the “low power” notification is now much shorter, so that you don't miss 5 seconds of dialogue during a film. But where it would be useful and non-intrusive to have dialogue, now there isn't any; you get the same notification sound for Bluetooth connection as you do for switching the device on or off. However I do like the soft orange charge-light compared to the red light on the XM4s (a small detail but one I appreciate). The headphone sensors are still next to useless for pausing playback when you remove the headphones, just as inconsistent as they are on the XM4s. Sometimes they pause, sometimes they don't, but if you pause before taking them off they ALWAYS start again, which means that the only effective way to pause if you're away from the sound source is to turn off the power. It would be nice if Sony could produce an audiophile's pair of headphones that strips out most of the tech and just focuses on the sound, because that's what they are brilliant at. I love the sound of these headphones and it seems to be improving all the time, I just wish the headset didn't get in the way of my enjoyment of it. So I find myself alternating between the XM4s and XM5s depending on the circumstances, which is a nice luxury to have but not ideal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Better than XM3 but not as good on noise canceling

WH-1000XM5 23 April 2024 by MrItalian (United Kingdom)

I've got the XM5 because my current XM3 are on their "last legs". Since I skiped one generation, I was expecting the XM5 to be amazing - unfortunately they are not. I am disapointed with the noise canceling. The sound quality is good but not amazing either. Overall, knwoing what I know now I am not sure I would get the XM5 again and perhaps would consider another brand (Bose QC Ultra).

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful and amazing !!!

WH1000XM5/SME 22 April 2024 by Liszismail (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love Sony products! Will never regret! Very recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing headphones Wh-1000xm5

WH-1000XM5 22 April 2024 by Yond142 (United Kingdom)

Had these a few weeks ago and the sound is vibrant and crystal clear. Previous non Sony brand didn't give the depth, bass or features that these have. Comfortable to wear, easy to pair and dedicated app allows many options including a graphic equaliser with custom settings for you to save. Would recommend these to anyone and the reviews and awards do them justice. I have heard new sounds in songs I like that I never new existed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
24 April 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 headset, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Good headphones

WH1000XM5/BME 22 April 2024 by Singlish translator (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth works well, good distance. Has a voice command feature that turns off the sound, have not worked out how to control this yet.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Headphones

WH-1000XM5 21 April 2024  (United Kingdom)

WH-1000XM5 replaced my old Bose phones and the difference in sound quality is very noticeable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magnificent sounding headphones

WH-1000XM5 21 April 2024 by PeterB15 (United Kingdom)

Wow, the sound these produce is absolutely fantastic. My music tastes range from classical to rock/pop and they can cope with these with easy. The stereo sound stage is very stable and detailed. So far the noise cancelling is amazing. The touch controls work very well and are easy to use. They are also very comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good but could have been great!!!

WH-1000XM5 20 April 2024 by BL10 (United Kingdom)

Great design, great noise canceling, lightweight and comfortable. For the downsides the sound is good but not great and the ear pads are way less comfortable than the previous model. This being said I will keep my Sony's XM5 as they are a really good pair of headphones great for traveling and a walks in any busy and loud environment .

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
22 April 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 headset, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Not living up to the hype

WH-1000XM5 19 April 2024 by Chirie (United Kingdom)

I wanted to spend some money on myself and buy high quality headphones with the best noise cancelling available. These are not it. They are not as comfortable as other reviewers have said, and the noise cancelling is not working with my s23 Ultra. I expected some decent kit for the price but except for a plain case and a small cable nothing comes with it, and the headphones are average. Shame. Had to send back.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Support Team
22 April 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that you didn't like the Sony WH-1000XM5 headset that you had to return it.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Excellent product

WH-1000XM5 19 April 2024 by NitaLita (United Kingdom)

I love these. Sound is great. Easy to use and comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality headphones

WH-1000XM5 19 April 2024 by ChrisPee (United Kingdom)

Had these for a few weeks now, and I am very impressed both with the build quality and the sound quality. The noise cancellation is fantastic, and the sound equaliser options make a huge impact on setting the right tome for different music and voice inputs. I would definitely recommend these as for the money I think they are brilliant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love them

WH-1000XM5 17 April 2024 by Ragequeen77 (United Kingdom)

I brought these from EE and I love them, I cannot hear my husband snoring not like normal headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vocal is clear improvement requires in mid and low

WH1000XM5/SME 17 April 2024 by Guna8 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is light weight and can wear long time. Voice is clear requires improvement in mid and low. Noise cancellation works well. Touch sensors works perfectly. Overall satisfied with the product.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features,good qualities

WH1000XM5/BME 16 April 2024 by ss75 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

use it everyday in LRT.good quality,good music quality

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great looking pair of headphones

WH-1000XM5 16 April 2024 by Kay154 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones about 3 weeks ago on a recommendation from my husband. Haven’t actually used them myself but from trying my husbands I know how great they are.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best noise cancelling - (hearing aid user)

WH-1000XM5 14 April 2024 by MikeB777 (United Kingdom)

I primarily bought these over others because I needed a pair that cancel noise and go over your ears as I have hearing aids. These cover my ears completely, are not too bulky or heavy and significantly reduce background noise. In my case I am sensitive to lower end noise and even though these do not cut them out completely I can happily watch a video on underground tube travel (the equaliser is good to enhance frequencies I struggle with). On occasion I just turn on noise cancelling to cut down conversation to be able to concentrate without anything playing. The speak to talk is great and really handy in not having to take the earphones off when you want to talk to someone which saves wear and tear on the band Lastly again saving on wear and tear is the touch sensitive panel does not have buttons and is very easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfortable awesome sounding headphones.

WH-1000XM5 13 April 2024 by edge3uk (United Kingdom)

I was looking for something to replace my AirPods Max which are too heavy and lack an EQ. I have sound sensitivity in some high frequencies which make them unsuitable. The XM5 absolutely delivered. They sound exactly as I want them to, and I can wear them for hours without suffering any fatigue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great as always

WH-1000XM5 13 April 2024 by Kaltubaiekh (United Kingdom)

I got this as a birthday gift and the person who got this for me knows how much I loved my M4s

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not as outstanding as imagined

WH1000XM5/BME 12 April 2024 by lzt Malaysia n9 (Malaysia)

I bought it and was very disappointed with its sound quality in the first few days.Taking my old mdr-xb950n1 for comparison.Without own customized equalized the SONY headphones is is totally lose compared to the older version. For this problem is totally not friendly to a new user. They do not how to equalize the music themselves. so I can see that in the second hand market they are so many of people selling the headphone xb5 1000.Its voice is very clean, the highs and mids are perfect, but he completely loses in the bass. I also found that wearing them for a long time can cause pain on the top of the head. The ears are very comfortable.Even though he was very light, it still hurt, probably because his thing was too thin and hard.xb5 voice was also very not loud enough. Finally, in its original condition, I can only give it 3 points, but if it is adjusted by myself, I can give it a 4.2 to 4.5 points.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great comfort and sound

WH-1000XM5 12 April 2024 by _vbv (United Kingdom)

I just bought the XM5 and really happy with the sound and how comfortable they are. Battery also seems to last quite. Overall really happy the XM5

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good

WH1000XM5/LME 12 April 2024 by Shehshsbsbsvsvh (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

A week ago shebdhebdbrhdhdbdbdby this is a very important day for me to be alive w my family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Failed after 18 months

WH-1000XM5 10 April 2024 by b00541 (United Kingdom)

I love these headphones, they are fantastic but they died after only 18 months. For a premium product that is terrible. The right speaker has stopped working and from looking online it seems to be a common problem with this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Response From Sony Support
12 April 2024

Hi boo 541,

Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that our service hasn't satisfied your expectations.

We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Sony WH-1000XM5. You can try to do the below steps as it can help to resolve the issue:

1-Update the firmware as shown here: https://cutt.ly/tw7tfXXR
2-Try resetting the device as mentioned here:https://cutt.ly/xw7tgz2n
3-Initialize the device and test again, as explained here: https://cutt.ly/gw7tgEWa

If you need further assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Michael @ Sony Support UK

0

Where is my 50 ringgit TNG redeem code?

WH1000XM5/SME 09 April 2024  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Where is my 50 ringgit TNG redeem code?The sales said will email to me.Almost one month haven’t get it?

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From CIC
19 April 2024

Hi,

Greetings from Sony Malaysia.

We would suggest you to contact our customer interaction team that may able to assist you further on this query.

Contact number: 1300 88 1233
(Technical Support/Repair/Warranty)
Operating Hours:
9:00AM to 6:00PM
(Monday - Friday, except Public Holidays)

Email: https://web.sony-asia.com/my/contact-us/

Best Regards,

Sony Malaysia.

CIC

0

Great features but bass is a disappointment

WH1000XM5/LME 09 April 2024 by Bhwong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable and long lasting battery life. Great noise reduction performance and very convenient remote control thru Bluetooth. Love the ability to connect thru wire for lossless audio and able to use on flight entertainment system. However, as I also own WF-1000XM3 and in comparison, I was dismay that the smaller earphone has far more powerful bass comparing to this huge headphone. While I can boost the bass using the equalizer, it seem to only works thru Bluetooth, not wired connection. The auto off doesn't always work when I kept into the carrier. So I will have to remember to switch it off manually.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product but...

WH-1000XM5 08 April 2024 by GazW82 (United Kingdom)

So I upgraded from the previous versions and must say the sound quality and noise cancelling has improved, they feel a better overall fit however the plastic/finish they have used on this model does show up a lot of fingerprints which didn't happen on the older models... no big issue but just thought I'd mention it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Right speaker broke after 13 months

WH-1000XM5 08 April 2024 by JamesA (United Kingdom)

Very good, but get insurance. John Lewis were excellent and have a two year warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony Support Team
11 April 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 headset, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

We provide one-year warranty with our consumer products. You can find its terms and conditions here: https://cutt.ly/9w49DiB3

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Maryam@ Sony Support UK

0

best choice

WH1000XM5/BME 08 April 2024 by weun (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

recommend to buy this. good quality. light weight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first pair of over-ear headphones since the 80s

WH-1000XM5 06 April 2024 by NickC1953 (United Kingdom)

I bought these to replace my Sony in-ear headphones to avoid wax over-production and ear blockage. Excellent sound quality and only slightly claustrophobic after extended use. Excellent battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb

WH1000XM5/LME 06 April 2024  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Actually i buy this item for online study it so very helpful.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great I always love sony products

WH1000XM5/BME 04 April 2024 by Jimmymie76 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it and never regret i buy it will look forward to buy other products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise cancelling, sound and call quality.

WH-1000XM5 29 March 2024 by Kel81 (United Kingdom)

I am happy with my 1000xm5. The sound quality is great as expected from Sony. Noticeable improvement from 1000xm3 in terms of noise cancelling and call quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound quality OK, everything else, NO GOOD

WH-1000XM5 27 March 2024 by GUANG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I tired to pair with two devices, Macbook and iPone. Noise cancellation is not as good as Bose QC ultra, Sound quality is not as good as B&O H9. Cannot wear it more than 1 hour. volume level will change itself, even with pre-set via APP. touch feature is not good, up and down direction has to be specific. and the app is funny and complicated to use. Feature is not as good as described. NOT recommend to buy.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30 March 2024

Hi GUANG, we're sorry to hear that you have issues with your Sony unit. If the effect of noise canceling is not sufficient, make sure the noise canceling function is turned on. Because the noise canceling performance is automatically optimized by the Auto NC Optimizer function according to changes in the wearing condition and usage environment, you may notice fluctuations in the noise canceling effect. Please follow this link for more details:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534745.html?search=noise%20canceling

For low sound quality and comfortably wearing the headphones, you can find these links helpful:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534519.html?search=sound%20quality

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000539062.html?search=comfortably

For the volume changing by itself and for any other issues, please initialize the headphones by following this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000541013.html

If you require any additional support with regard to this product, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Amazing sound quality and a student discount!

WH-1000XM5 27 March 2024 by Korvade (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound quality, noise cancelling is sometimes too good as I don't seem to hear cars on the streets anymore. The functionalities like hand gestures, cupping an ear to allow for transparent mode or spotify double clicking are great. From downsides, the protective container is bulky and they are fragile. Be wary of Sony predicted shipping times as they have a policy of shipping within 30 days. Also if you are a student - don't forget your UNIDAYS discount!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

awful

WH-1000XM5 27 March 2024 by barbra 879 (United Kingdom)

i bought these believeinh the details of it being noise cancelling and no sound leakage but it’s the complete opposite . after trying to contact customer service i was completely ignored and still haven’t received my return label. this is unprofessional fix up

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony Support Team
02 April 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that the Sony WH-1000XM5 headset didn't meet your expectations.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Great hardware, software could be improved

WH-1000XM5 26 March 2024 by Chris UK 80 (United Kingdom)

Noise reduction and audio quality is excellent. The software could be better. Some settings are hidden within what seems like unrelated features, and it is easy to forget where you found them. You can configure Spotify shortcuts and taps will control Spotify, but there are no similar conrtols for other services like Tidal (which is a shame as Tidal has better quality audio)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
28 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 headset, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. We have flagged your feedback as voice of customer, to the concerned team for future consideration.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Great headphones!

WH-1000XM5 25 March 2024 by CJBa (United Kingdom)

I bought these a couple of weeks ago and so far they are great. Very expensive, but the sound quality and features are really good. It takes a little while to learn all the smart functions and the gestures but once you do they are great headphones. The ability to customise the equaliser is great as it really personalises your listening experience. The app that comes with the headphones is pretty good too and does a pretty good job of explaining the features. They look good too which always helps. Battery life is great - I've not had to charge them yet. Hopefully they keep impressing me to warrant spending so much on them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Okay

WH-1000XM5 25 March 2024 by Mafioso (United Kingdom)

Bought this about a month now and must say that I love the design and the ease of use and it simplicity. But then I am still not satisfied with sound quality even with the customised equaliser, the bass isn't so impressive compared to other cheaper products I've bought many years back. I am the guy whol loves great sound and hight quality bass. Sadly, I haven't gotten the satisfaction I look for. And my ears doesn't fit well into the head phones.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony Support Team
27 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WH-1000XM5 headset, yet we're sorry to learn that its sound quality didn't meet your expectations, and we'd like to assist.

Please, check out the tips in this page to ensure that you're getting the best out of the sound quality of this headset: https://cutt.ly/dw3eo9Be
Also, you can check this page to learn how to wear and fit the headset properly to your ears: https://cutt.ly/dw3epPSM

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/JwU9zuYo

Mazen @ Sony Support UK

0

Great

WH-1000XM5 25 March 2024 by Sebastianc (United Kingdom)

Brilliant anc and really comfortable. Battery life goes on for days and the build quality is brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing noise cancelling

WH-1000XM5 25 March 2024 by Gersonsj77 (United Kingdom)

Bought them last year and use mainly for flights. The noise cancelling is the nest in the market. Sound clarity is also great. Only suggestion might be to make the earpads a bit thicker. Overall great product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty advanced noise cancelation.

WH1000XM5/B 25 March 2024 by Soulja4Christ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only downside is the app functionality, it regularly needs to be reset as if just installed.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26 March 2024

Hi Soulja4Christ, Awesome! We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your new WH-1000XM5! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Carl

0

Great sound and noise cancelling

WH1000XM5/LME 25 March 2024 by RBT3 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my headphones for about a month now and recently took a couple of cross -country flights with them and they worked great. Noise cancellation was very good, and sound quality was excellent, they were also comfortable to wear for the 5+ hour flight and have very long battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good noise cancelling

WH1000XM5/SME 25 March 2024 by Andy law (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good noise cancelling and comfort to the ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

WH-1000XM5 24 March 2024 by Slacknuts (United Kingdom)

With headphones the most important thing is the sound, and these are brilliant. They are comfortable to wear, and the battery lasts a good amount of time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Product smell

WH1000XM5/SME 23 March 2024 by Xuen (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

good but the smell of the headphone is too strong. But overall I’m fine to have this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product👍

WH1000XM5/BME 23 March 2024 by Mr Ng 84 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

As usual SONY is my preference, nothing to complaint, always delivers high quality sounds, the noise cancellation is nice, even wearing it for a long time will not cause dizziness, comfortable wearing design, well done.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!

WH1000XM5/BME 23 March 2024 by shayla (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've wanted to buy Sony headphones for a long time. 上The last time I went to the store to experience xm4 and xm5, I bought xm5 directly, the sound quality is very good ♫ (◕◡◕ ✿ ) ♫ And the appearance of the product is very good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

They are fab

WH-1000XM5 22 March 2024 by J034 (United Kingdom)

They are fab. Like really really good. Noise cancellation is good even when it isn’t loud

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good so far

WH-1000XM5 21 March 2024 by Al0302 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a pair of Bose quiet comfort headphones and so far so good. The app was a new thing for me (others were plug and use) and wasn’t immediately intuitive. My partner had the MX -4 so was able to help. Initial thoughts are good, very comfortable and sound is really clear . Ability to link to 2 pieces of tech is good, I think. Real test will be on my flight to Japan at the weekend. Hopefully they are easy to use on the plane!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
25 March 2024

Hi Al0302,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you require any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Noise Cancellation

WH1000XM5/SME 21 March 2024 by sahnav (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The noise cancellation function really works great, I feel like sitting in a sound proof room. Good Job. Keep it up. I bought 3 sets for my family.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound

WH-1000XM5 20 March 2024 by Orangecurls (United Kingdom)

Requested by my son for his birthday. He is really happy with them. Sound is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfy

WH-1000XM5 19 March 2024 by blib (United Kingdom)

Does what it says on the label, very comfortable to wear for extended periods of time and decent noise cancelling. Nicer design than previous versions too.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice but not-very-eco-friendly-design

WH-1000XM5 19 March 2024 by NiXPx (United Kingdom)

As someone with ADHD I had the opportunity to get my employer to purchase me new over ear headphones so I decided to upgrade from the 1000XM4 to 1000XM5. I already had the app in use to optimise the sound so haven't noticed any particular uplift in sound quality but I wouldn't have expected that. The headphones are lighter and more comfortable and the carry case is far more practical/usable. What knocks points off these headphones - and Sony headphones full stop - is the absence of re-usable and recyclable batteries for these headphones. I'm quite baffled by the headphone producing industry and Which (and other groups) reviews which give these producers thumbs up despite being so eco-unfriendly. Not cool. These headphones are pretty durable bits of plastic (my now 4 year old WH-1000XM4s are still going strong) and I would happily pay for an upgrade of those in functionality - rather than paying way more bucks for a lighter headset etc... When the time comes, I would rather see the battery replaced or refurbished within the headset than dumping the headset (we can pretty much guarantee that this headset isn't going to be "recycled" - unless that means burned). Sony I hope will change - and quick smart. The future is now. We all have a responsibility, but major organisations like Sony need to take the lion's share of responsibility. ASAP.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support team
25 March 2024

Hi NiXPx,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to learn that you're enjoying the headset and for more years to come!
Regarding the batteries and recycling, the product box is produced using recycled and sustainable materials developed specially for Sony. WH-1000XM5 also uses recycled plastic materials from automobile parts.
Sony is also committed to eliminating waste and doing its part in saving the planet, you can read more about Sony's road to zero here: https://cutt.ly/fw9A0Er6.
Regarding replacing the batteries, it can be replaced at our authorised service centres.
If you require any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Good voice!

WH1000XM5/SME 19 March 2024  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

i super love it!and wearing it everday!! HAPPY! So economic

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best ANC.

WH-1000XM5 19 March 2024 by Akki5 (United Kingdom)

I bought it two weeks ago.This has been a bucketlist of mine.I am pretty much happy about how the headphones work,they reworked the design,I previously had a wh-910n and that thing broke a few times due to the design,same issue with xm3 and 4 which they resolved in this.It is super comfy too and gives a luxury touch to it. I would recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfy, great sound and cool extra features

WH-1000XM5 19 March 2024 by RootinTootinVladimirPutin (United Kingdom)

Did lots of research and seems sensible to go in this direction - glad I did. Great headphones!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, could fit a bit better.

WH1000XM5/BME 18 March 2024 by MightyModes (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones have become my go-to for travel, especially flights. The active noise cancellation (ANC) is phenomenal. It practically erases the drone of airplane engines, letting me sink into my music or movies without distraction. But the ANC isn't the only star here. The sound quality is superb, with crisp highs and rich bass. The built-in EQ is a fantastic addition, allowing me to fine-tune the sound profile to my preferences. My music sounds phenomenal – exactly how I like it. One minor snag – the fit around the ears and head could be a touch snugger. They're not uncomfortable by any means, but new ear pads might provide a bit more security and a perfect seal. Overall, though, these headphones are a fantastic choice for anyone who prioritizes excellent audio quality and powerful noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent not the best

WH-1000XM5 18 March 2024 by Dury20292 (United Kingdom)

Does not have the best noise cancelling which makes you want to increase the sound to really activate that side of noise cancellation, but however I did and ruptured my ears.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony support team
20 March 2024

Hi Dury20292,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you raptured your ears due to excessive volume levels.
We always recommend checking the precautions to avoid damaging your ears here: https://cutt.ly/aw2ZcSuv
Regarding the ANC, we can confirm that with four microphones on each ear cup, this is our biggest ever step forward in noise-cancelling. Ambient sound is captured even more accurately for a dramatic reduction in high frequency noise. Thanks to Auto NC Optimizer, noise-cancelling performance is always and automatically optimised based on wearing conditions and external environmental factors such as atmospheric pressure.
However, if you feel that the effect is not sufficient, please check this link: https://cutt.ly/Bw2ZxSmx

Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us here: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Best headphones

WH1000XM5/BME 17 March 2024 by Propaganda attack (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly recommended headphones for those who love music..with the sound quality and function offer, you will never regret after buy this headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great, made badly. Sony want £220 to fix

WH-1000XM5 17 March 2024 by DontBuySony66 (United Kingdom)

Sound great but made badly. One of the arms snapped under normal use. Sony refuse to fix under warranty and want £220 to replace a bit of plastic. Google the guardian article on Sony headphones breaking under warranty and Sony refusing to fix them. It’s a major issue with the design or manufacture. Avoid like the plague

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony support team
19 March 2024

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that your headphones broke.
Sony strives for the optimal product design while using suitable material aiming for product optimisation and durability.

We regret to tell you that the warranty doesn't cover physical damage, you can find more here: https://cutt.ly/aw2OscYs, this is why we recommend reading through the precautions to take care of your headphones: https://cutt.ly/Bw2OhzSU
If you require any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Qulity

WH-1000XM5 17 March 2024 by Tharusha (United Kingdom)

i bought 2 weeks ago and i am not satisfied with the sound qulity and noice cansellation

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony support team
19 March 2024

Hi Tharusha,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're not satisfied with the sound, and the noise-cancelling.
We can confirm that you can tailor the sound settings to match your taste using the Headphones Connect App: https://cutt.ly/lw2I21dx

Regarding the Noise Cancelling, we recommend following the steps on the link below to enhance the effect: https://cutt.ly/sw2I9aRe

If any issue remains, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us here: https://cutt.ly/q8P6ehW, (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Liable and solid performance

WH-1000XM5 16 March 2024 by Rebaz416 (United Kingdom)

I bought in nov 23 and since then I'm amazed how cool this headphone is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0