Z1R PREMIUM HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

THB 69,990.00

36

4.4 based on 36 customer reviews

28
3
0
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing sound quality and quantity!!!

MDRZ1R 23 February 2021 by crazydave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had these headphones for about a month now and I can't believe how great they sound! They far exceed my Sennheiser HD650's in every way! They are soo clear and full sounding, they play very loud also if you like.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first serious Headphones

MDRZ1R 09 February 2021 by damon69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound of the Z1Rs. Strong bass without distortion or detracting from the Mids suits my music tastes very well. Paired with a stack of excellent Schiit components, the Z1rs provide the highest quality sound I have ever experienced. They are also beautiful in their construction, and more than comfortable. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A True Flagship

MDR-Z1R WW2 23 January 2021 by Ashraf Azlan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thundering bass that doesn't bleed into the clean mids, and just enough treble energy to make even the most subdued songs come alive. The MDR-Z1R offers something most flagship headphones lack—fun.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good quality, but not good for the price tag

MDR-Z1R 05 January 2021 by slangy_savant9PS4 (USA)

i absolutely love these headphones! bought them for my pc. great quality, superior sound. only problem is, $1800 bucks. its a crazy amount for headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

The best headphones I ever own.

MDR-Z1R 19 December 2020 by Andrewtst (Malaysia)

The sound is so purest, crystal clear vocal, deep bass, no single pitching or distortion at all. Absolutely stunning!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything I hoped for

MDR-Z1R 14 October 2020 by physicsapplied (USA)

I'm a relative newbie to the audiophile world. A few months ago I decided to slow down a bit and get a smoking jacket, a really comfortable chair and the best set of headphones and amp I could get my hands on. I spent countless hours on the internet, listened to some friends cans and then did some value based judging. I initially rejected these because I was convinced Sony's time had passed. The more reviews I saw, the more I got past all the marketing from everyone, the more I realized that so many headphones, if not all, have their own unique signature and that I would never be in a room with all 50 prospective cans to try for myself. I enjoy EDM music mostly, but also bluegrass and other acoustical genres (country, rock). More and more I realized that these closed back headphones were probably perfect for me. I took the plunge and ordered them. I practiced delayed gratification and gave them an appropriate burn in phase. I am 110% satisfied with my purchase. The craftsmanship with quality weeping from every detail is there. They are comfortable, not too heavy, but can get slightly warm on the ears. The soundstage is immersive and the base is smooth and rich. No fatigue that I've felt yet. I do own a few other similarly priced top name brands and can tell you that these are the best crafted and the most pleasurable phones I own. I save the box for all of the audio gear I buy, just in case I ever decide to sell it down the road. I save this box for safe packaging when I move. I will own these until I'm ambient temp. I would buy again without hesitation. Every time I go to my comfy chair (no smoking jacket) and sit down with a glass of wine (or soft drink), close my eyes and put these on, I go away. Really, really far away and it's magical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

The best headphones i ever had

MDR-Z1R 28 March 2020 by Mission Control (USA)

Very nice sound, light, confortable. I buy also the kimber cable balanced i´ts a must the bass response makes a different experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

17

0

Best Closed back headphones ive ever tried

MDR-Z1R WW2 21 January 2020 by joshfc2001 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The soundstage on this closed back over ears are great and overall very comfortable and durable cans. My only mistake was getting the IER-Z1R which makes the MDR inferior. The IER does everything the same as the MDR but just sonically better from all angles. Now I hardly listen to my MDRs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing. Sony Returns as the King of Closed Back

MDRZ1R 14 January 2020 by center (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing closed back headphone. The leather is very good quality and smells amazing. The build quality is top notch. The most comfortable pair I own. Although MDR-Z1R tends to be a bit genre specific (leaning towards dance, hiphop, and electronic music), it is a great overall performer. It's a little recessed in the mids and +12k for rock and roll, but it is just a such a great chill headphone. A lot of genres sound very good. Bass is so tight and has authority. Nothing is muddy, just really relaxed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

17

0

Horrible i wish i could give it 0 stars

MDR-Z1R 21 August 2019 by Sean7282873 (USA)

Don’t buy this, ordered it and it broke within the first day, thought it wasn’t unlucky ordered another and it broke again. Horrible product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

168

0

Amazed every day, all over again....

MDR-Z1R 23 July 2019 by adirob1 (USA)

I've never spent so much money on headphones, especially as I purchased with the top of the range Sony portable DAC (NW-WM1Z), and i did so because i wanted to know for myself if the reviews are real. I'm no audiophile, but i have been blown away time and time again, literally...laugh out loud experiences are continual. I have nearly 5000 albums and i'm slowly working through them like i'm hearing them for the first time. To Sony - thank you so much for investing in the R&D and team to allow them to create such an array of products that for those of us willing to make the financial sacrifices can enjoy. I've never liked a product so much, and i'll continue to be an ardent follow of all future Sony hi-res audio equipment, this entire experience for me was unique and mind blowing and i just can't wait to go to bed every night to escape into my music. I'm obsessed with listening to anything and everything on these headphones. And every day i'm amazed...its a gift that keeps on giving. Just WOW. To the Z1R product team - thank you sooooo much, i'm so, so grateful to enjoy my music with these!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

15

0

Excellent audio!

MDR-Z1R WW2 10 March 2019 by Icyman (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to add on to my Walkman, just superb! The sound quality is really beyond my expectation!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

3 months now and I'm still being impressed

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2019 by Z4Mcoup (United Kingdom)

The quality of the materials used for the headphones and storage box are first class. Adjustment and comfort during use is excellent. I power them with a Chord Mojo DAC amp. Having studied some reviews before I purchased them, I was aware of the “laid back” nature of the sound reproduction, which in turn has led to some negative responses. With this in mind I would recommend that anybody considering purchasing them has an extended demo, to realise their full potential. Be careful though --- it will probably end up with you having to own them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

18

0

Best closed back headphone in the world!

MDR-Z1R 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

Exceptional sound quality! They've got a superb build quality,very durable and they are very nice looking headphones! I'm really impressed by these cans! Thumbs up Sony...you've done a really good job on making us happier with our music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

13

0

Sony Z1R Headphone review

MDR-Z1R 15 December 2018 by Conrad123 (USA)

Bought these headphones for a test. I am pretty disappointed. The product is overpriced.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

126

0

CHALLENGE..... PLEASE TAKE IT

MDR-Z1R 17 October 2018 by superprim (USA)

The sound is amazing... Beyerdynamic T1 gen 2 Were my go to before these came into my life. I am not an audiophile and for that matter neither is anyone else. Our ears are so custom that it I all about finding what makes your hearing "feel'

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

13

0

Top Premium Headphone

MDR-Z1R 19 September 2018 by Prince Zoul (Malaysia)

I bought this a week ago and I am really enjoy listening to the music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent Headphones, Improving With Use

MDR-Z1R 17 September 2018 by Tre7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a few weeks ago on the basis of a series of excellent reviews. They are living up to expectations. Most reviewers suggest that they get better with use and that appears to be the case. I am also considering buying the matched amplifier that Sony offers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

4

0

Great Product - Amazing headphones

MDR-Z1R 14 September 2018 by Juniba (USA)

Such an amazing headphones best quality and design. 100% recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

1

0

Best headphones for Pop Music

MDR-Z1R 05 July 2018 by Matrix1989 (USA)

I've owned several other headphones including AKG K601, Sennheiser HD 598, Sony MDR-1A and Sony MDR-Z7, and in my opinion this pair of Z1R is the best so far for pop music, the sound is rich and well balanced, I just wanna listen to every song I have for once more. I really appreciate the use of the newly designed acoustic filter. However, I'm not happy with was the plastic housing, the metal housing used on the Z7 model seems to be much more durable and scratch-resisting. Also, the coating on the hanger is easy to wear off and get tin point too if you are not careful enough. These are well solved problems on the older Z7 and I don't know why Sony didn't adopt the merits from their old model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

6

0

Understated Design with Luxurious Performance

MDRZ1R 24 June 2018 by Formula1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over the past 40 years I have owned countless Sony products. From their TVs, compact and video disc players to Walkmans and many others in between. However, up until now I had never owned a pair of Sony high-end headphones. When I first saw the advertisements for the new MDR-Z1R I was immediately struck by their understated yet striking design. In reading about the technology and craftsmanship I was, needless to say, curious...if not captivated. So, after setting aside some considerable funding I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase a pair online. I received these a few days ago and have been giving them a pretty extensive workout since. I had been reading in previous reviews that they require a fair amount of break-in time to reach their peak performance capabilities. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised at how good they sounded right out of the box and they have only been getting better since. I was struck by their apparent balance across the entire frequency range with maybe a slight bump in the midrange, but that only seems to give the sound a bit more presence. It is not in any way disruptive of a completely enjoyable listening experience. Lower frequencies are tight and powerful and higher frequencies are not harsh or bright. It was a different sound signature than I had been accustomed to from other Japanese engineered products which always seemed to over emphasize the high frequency ranges. But not here, not with these headphones anyway. The sound is well balanced, non-fatiguing and among the best I have heard in comparatively priced headphones. I have a pair of Oppo PM-1 planar magnetic headphones that I have considered my reference and I can say that these certainly rival them for overall presentation and sound quality. As for fit, finish and quality, the Z1Rs are second to none. The ear pads feel luxurious and the band rests very comfortable across the head. The construction and feel of the unit is luxurious and shows off the tremendous quality and craftsmanship that has been put into this product. And while I have a read a few contradictory reviews I could find no fault with the design or construction of these cans. If there is one criticism it is simply that these headphones come at a price premium. At a suggested retail of almost $2300 these are not for the meek. But shop around and you can probably find them for a bit less. Regardless, they are worth the extra money if you are looking to make a significant commitment to your headphone listening and want a pair that will sound great and give you years of listening enjoyment. 5 out of 5 stars for this discerning listener! Good job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

6

0

Poor quality control!

MDRZ1R 12 June 2018 by JKTRRT (USA)

Just picked them up 3 days ago and noticed that the paint on the back of the headphone has a missed painted spot. They are expensive and should have inspected for imperfections. I am not happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

89

0

Excellent headphone

MDR-Z1R 04 February 2018 by syed39 (USA)

My brother gift me the headphone and I think this model is the best headphone ever i used.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

13

0

ZIR PREMIUM HEADPHONE Simply the best

MDR-Z1R 17 January 2018 by Rauf (USA)

I am a Professor & two of my students purchased this Headphone. Invited me to enjoy music using this headphone. Splendid feeling,hard to describe it reception simply excellent. Both students describe it their immaculate treasure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

7

0

terable

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018 by bald larry (USA)

i have had these for about 2 weeks and i dropped them and now they dont work :/

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

212

0

trash

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018  (USA)

these are the uglyiest headphones and trash and never buy these ever again its the worst headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

204

0

Grand,speaker-like experience;plump+organic images

MDR-Z1R 29 December 2017 by R__S (USA)

I've had this for almost a year and feel they are a real breakthrough in headphones. It's a big, grand sound along with palpable, natural images with real-life spatial portrayal. They are not fatiguing, especially with the optional Sony-Kimber headphone cable made especially for the Z1R (available at Amazon). The Z1R to me has a wonderful warm resonance that does sound aggressive, but is still uncannily real. The music flows but has real impact and humanity. You may want to give up on speakers with these headphones. It's a unique sound that you will not find with any other headphones. Many high end headphones can be shrill and painful in the name of a vivid sound, but that can be hard to live with. Not the Z1R, it is inviting while also resolving, with a balanced sound that is riveting and still supremely musical and detailed. And it's very comfortable too. It is best with a good, fairly powerful amplifier. The Z1R is a real cure for over-shrill digital sound. It sound analog, almost vinyl-like with any digital input. It's an awesome achievement for Sony IMHO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

6

0

superb headphones

MDR-Z1R 07 August 2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them to match the Sony headphone amp. They make a good match and provide wonderful listening. They are also very comfortable, despite their large size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

43

5

0

Excellent sound

MDR-Z1R WW2 22 May 2017  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using the Z1R for almost one month. The headphone has excellent bass and treble extension. With high clarity and dynamic range, I can hear details that were not easily picked up with my IEM (6 drivers). The Z1R also sounded natural and has good soundstage, especially width. The depth is also good. Do use the Z1R with a good sound source to fully exploit its capabilities. Using the Z1R with the balance cable gives wider soundstage and faster response.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

Great Headphone

MDR-Z1R WW2 02 May 2017  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This headphone very good if you using Kimber cable. You need to break for around 1 week before the original quality shine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Outstanding on any aspect

MDR-Z1R 01 May 2017 by ThibS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have it for few months now, and I am still smiling each time I use it. Love the sound signature, very comfortable, very limited sound leakage (I use it at home and at the office). Would not recommend for nomad use though, mainly because of the size and the risk of damaging it if the wired gets caught as it can happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

49

9

0

Truly Exceptional

MDR-Z1R WW2 15 April 2017  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own the Z7 and it is excellent. But when I tried the Z1R and compared it against the Z7 at the KLCC Sony Store, I was amazed at the difference. I came back and got the Z1R the next day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Kando

MDR-Z1R 12 April 2017 by Sirencall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a lot of top end headphones, and none have compared to these. They're different and that's why I like them. What these do that other top end headphones do not do is deliver emotion. Warm, buttery emotion whilst not compromising on the high fidelity experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

63

11

0

Worthy Flagship

MDR-Z1R WW2 16 March 2017  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

First off, build quality is exceptional. However one minor issue. Mine came with different stiffness of earpads. Sony Malaysia took about one month to handle my case and while it’s a long wait, the pad was replaced with no cost. Now come the sound quality. Z1R is miles ahead of Z7 overall in this area. Z1R is versatile transducer with any type of music throw at it. Z7 is edgy and lack cohesion when compared to Z1R. Compared to similar price-point headphone, the Senn HD800S, Z1R is more satisfying and deliver every details HD800S known for with extra punchiness and meaty. Z1R also provide sufficient isolation for ambience noise and preserve more micro details in recording, while HD800S require total silent to perform as well as Z1R. Z1R is no slouch when compared to higher price-point, king of dynamic headphone-Focal Utopia and king of electrostatic- Stax SR009. Both flagship to my ears dig deeper into music and realism is hard to beat. Z1R counter by being easier to drive(higher sensitivity), and as being closed, provide adequate isolation thus more versatile. Z1R is close to the performance of Focal Utopia than the Focal Elear. One who consider Focal Elear, should give Z1R a listen. To me, Z1R is much more complete than Elear in term of sound staging(more 3D, wider) and punch harder as well. Stax SR009 has different tonal balance than the Z1R. Its more linear, airier and more to speaker-like presentation. While Utopia on the other hand has wonderful tone at presence band(instrument, woman voice) that really give the music a life. One with deep pocket should skip Z1R and proceed with either Utopia and SR009. Sound signature of Z1R, out of the box has slight veil and bass can become overbearing with some music. Then overtime(over 50 hours) the tonal balance become more neutral, bass is became more textured. With my new pads, which has right amount of stiffness between both pairs give a boost on overall sound quality than the first originally came with it. Noticeable improvement are on the sound staging and eliminate mid-bass boost and sometime bleed into mid-range that haunt my original pairs. As footnote, my source is Tidal hifi, via Astell and Kern AK320 DAP.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Best close headphones

MDRZ1R 07 March 2017 by Richguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With the new Walkman this the best combination i have bought in years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

57

14

0

Underwhelming performance after all the hype

MDR-Z1R WW2 02 November 2016 by Hariz (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good solid built quality but sound performance is good but not exceptional; performs better with Chord Mojo than PHA-3 with Kimber balanced cables. Beyerdynamic T1(2nd Gen) has better clarity and tighter bass. Hopefully will perform better after longer burn-in. Performs better than the Z7. Quite comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

11